Sonia's Thorns (English/Spanish)

1.jpg

I once heard someone say that friendship is a place to return to. I was moved by these words, but immediately something stunned me, because beyond the poetic beauty, it is not always possible to return to an old friendship and that is a reality. Many years ago I had a great friend whom I loved with that fervor that only youth gives us, but we separated abruptly and that loss hurt me for a long time, I could say that until very recently I began to heal it.

Sonia Rosas was the name of that girl with whom I shared my confidences, my early anguish, my moments of games and laughter, my trips to the movies and the overwhelming demands of school. Her beauty was simple, fine brown hair, soft brown skin, short stature, slim build, small eyes subtly drawn; just as her last name presumed, a rose in the garden of my youth. But roses have thorns and she had some in store for me.

At the beginning of January 89, classes resumed after the Christmas vacations. To my surprise my friend Sonia no longer spoke to me, I felt very confused, we had not argued or had the slightest difference, however it seemed that she was running away from me in the classroom and in the corridors of the school where we had walked together for so long. I wanted to talk, but she had her back to me, not only had she left, she had also taken other friends in common with her, she had left me alone.

That morning was devastating, how could a 16 year old girl contain that maelstrom, I felt my chest open up. I cried for the rest of the day, until sleep overcame me at night. The days that followed were just as hard, I had no tools to deal with her indifference and contempt. A couple of days later we spoke on the phone, she told me that she didn't want to be my friend anymore, that it wasn't my fault but that she just wanted to be with other people. How could that be true? I didn't know that friends ended up like that, I thought that those melodramas corresponded to failed engagements or marriages, I never imagined that a friend could break up with me.

I accepted it with a lot of pain, but inside I was counting on it being temporary, I thought that if I waited patiently I could return to the place I once occupied in her life. Days went by, until at the beginning of March I found myself again with that feeling of desolation, because a common friend was celebrating her birthday and invited us all. In that intimate meeting, Sonia crossed my path, she seemed calm, she called me aside and gave me an envelope, she told me that inside the envelope there was a letter for me, she also shared with me her wish that I read it alone when I was already at home, she said it with that tone of complicity that we used to have.

I could not deny it, I was filled with illusion, that letter could be the bridge that would unite us again. The evening was wonderful, because something inside me was renewed just by the fact that Sonia approached me and gave me her words, probably of reconciliation. I arrived home in a hurry, anxious to read the lines my friend had written for me. But another surprise awaited me inside that envelope.

On the outside of the sheet glowed a religious quotation.

"Behold, I command you to be strong and courageous; do not be afraid or dismayed, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9"

2.jpg

The other part was an avalanche, the first line:

"Elba: Now I'm feeling what happened, but we can't turn back."

The letter in general was a farewell, where all her emotions crossed and ran over me violently. In some lines she expressed how much she loved me and in others that she simply couldn't be friends with me anymore.

"We both need to meet new friends, I want to learn from other people. That's my life and I can't change it."

3.jpg

For years I had a lot of guilt, Sonia's decisions and her letter brutally hit my self-esteem, which was already quite weakened. I came to think that I was a very bad friend, that I was not worth enough for others to be by my side. I carried these ideas for a long time, even into my adulthood; until one day I realized that it didn't hurt so much anymore.

I realized that those lines written with beautiful handwriting and a few spelling mistakes were Sonia's war against herself, not against me. Now I handle concepts such as "affective responsibility" and in this regard, I think Sonia did very wrong to see her friends as objects of consumption and easy replacement. We are people, and we should take care of each other affectively and emotionally, but who taught us that? Not then and not now. We learn to live the hard way, stumbling and crashing with all our mistakes on other people.

As an adult I heard from her again, we met one day by chance. We didn't talk much, she told me that she was married and had a son, and that she was an evangelical pastor. I did not tell her anything about my life, she is no longer a person I can trust. I still keep her letter, I read it and I find it as incredible as the first time I did it, I feel that the woman I am and the girl I was reproach her severely for every word.

Sonia Rosas was my friend, with her I learned that there are places you cannot go back to. Now I am aware that I am a great friend, that I give the best of me in emotional relationships and I am worth a lot. I also try to offer all my dear people the support they need, because in this world of shadows we always need someone to go through the darkness with.

I will end this post with the words with which Sonia ended her letter, because I agree with her on that last point. It is what I practice every day and I hope she does it too and that she succeeds in each of her attempts. See you next time.

"Nothing will ever be the same as it was, everything has changed and I will not be able to be the same no matter how hard I try. I will try to be better with what is coming in the future."

Original content by the author.
Resources: Tablet ZTE E10Q
Own photos
Translated with Deepl.com
All Rights Reserved || @jetta.amaya// 2023


Las espinas de Sonia (Ingles/Español)

1.jpg

Una vez escuche a alguien decir que la amistad es un sitio para volver. Me conmovieron estas palabras, pero en seguida algo me aturdió, pues más allá de la belleza poética, no siempre se puede volver a una vieja amistad y esa es una realidad. Hace muchos años tuve una gran amiga a la que quise con ese fervor que solo nos otorga la juventud, pero nos separamos abruptamente y esa pérdida me dolió durante mucho tiempo, podría decir que hasta hace muy poco comencé a sanarla.

Sonia Rosas era el nombre de aquella chica con la que compartí mis confidencias, mis angustias tempranas, mis momentos de juegos y de risas, mis paseos al cine y las abrumadoras exigencias escolares. Su belleza era simple, cabello fino y castaño, piel suave y morena, estatura baja, contextura delgada, ojos pequeños sutilmente dibujados; tal como lo presumía su apellido, una rosa en el jardín de mi juventud. Pero las rosas tienen espinas y ella tenía algunas guardadas para mí.

Empezando el año 89, a principios de enero se reanudaron las clases después de las vacaciones navideñas. Para mi sorpresa mi amiga Sonia ya no me dirigía la palabra, me sentí muy confundida, no habíamos discutido ni tenido la mínima diferencia, sin embargo parecía que escapaba de mí en el salón de clases y en los pasillos del colegio donde por tanto tiempo caminamos juntas. Quise hablar, pero me daba la espalda, no solo se había alejado ella, también se había llevado consigo a otras amigas en común, me había dejado sola.

Aquella mañana fue devastadora, cómo podía una chica de 16 años contener aquella vorágine, sentía que mi pecho se abría. Llore lo que restaba de día, hasta que en la noche el sueño me venció. Los días que siguieron fueron igual de duros, no tenía ninguna herramienta para lidiar con su indiferencia y sus desprecios. Un par de días después hablamos por teléfono, me dijo que no quería ser más mi amiga, que no era mi culpa sino que simplemente quería estar con otras personas. ¿Cómo podía ser cierto? No sabía que las amigas terminaran así, pensaba que esos melodramas correspondían a los noviazgos o matrimonios fallidos, nunca imagine que una amiga podría cortar conmigo.

Lo acepte con mucho dolor, pero en mi interior contaba con que aquello fuera pasajero, pensaba que si esperaba con paciencia podría volver a ese lugar que una vez ocupe en su vida. Pasaron los días, hasta que a inicio de marzo me reencontré con aquel sentimiento de desolación, pues una amiga en común celebraba su cumpleaños y nos invitó a todos. En aquella reunión íntima, Sonia se cruzó en mi camino, parecía tranquila, me llamo a parte y me entrego un sobre, me comento que dentro del sobre había una carta para mí, también me compartió su deseo de que la leyera a solas cuando ya estuviese en mi casa, lo dijo con ese tono de complicidad que solíamos tener.

No podría negarlo, me llene de ilusión, aquella carta podría ser el puente que volvería a unirnos. La velada fue maravillosa, porque algo en mi interior se había renovado solo con el hecho de que Sonia me abordara y me entregara sus palabras, probablemente de reconciliación. Llegue a mi casa apresurada, ansiosa por leer las líneas que mi amiga había escrito para mí. Pero otra sorpresa me esperaba dentro de aquel sobre.

En la parte externa de la hoja resplandecía una cita religiosa

“Mira que te mando que te esfuerces y seas valiente; no temas ni desmayes, porque Jehová tu Dios estará contigo dondequiera que vayas. Josué 1:9”

2.jpg

La otra parte fue una avalancha, la primera línea:

“Elba: Ahora estoy sintiendo lo que paso, pero no podemos dar marcha atrás”

La carta en general era una despedida, donde todas sus emociones se cruzaban y me atropellaban violentamente. En unas líneas expresaba cuanto me quería y en otras que simplemente no podía seguir siendo su amiga.

“Las dos necesitamos conocer nuevas amigas, yo quiero aprender de otras personas. Esa es mi vida y no la puedo cambiar”

3.jpg

Durante años tuve mucha culpa, las decisiones de Sonia y su carta golpearon brutalmente mi autoestima, que ya de por si estaba bastante debilitado. Llegue a pensar que era muy mala amiga, que no valía lo suficiente para que los demás estuviesen a mi lado. Cargue durante mucho tiempo con estas ideas, incluso hasta mi adultez; hasta que un día me di cuenta que ya no me dolía tanto ¿El tiempo lo sano?

Me di cuenta que aquellas líneas escritas con una hermosa letra y unos cuantos errores ortográficos, eran la guerra que Sonia libraba contra ella misma, no contra mí. Ahora manejo conceptos como el de “La responsabilidad afectiva” y en torno a esto, creo que Sonia hizo muy mal al ver a sus amistades como objetos de consumo y fácil reemplazo. Somos personas, y debemos cuidar afectiva y emocionalmente unos de los otros, pero ¿Quién nos enseñaba eso? Ni en ese entonces ni ahora. Aprendemos a vivir a la mala, tropezándonos y estrellándonos con todos nuestros errores sobre las otras personas.

De adulta volví a saber de ella, nos encontramos un día por casualidad. No hablamos mucho, me comento que estaba casada y que tenía un hijo, también que era pastora evangélica. Yo no le dije nada sobre mi vida, ya no es una persona en la que pueda confiar. Aún conservo su carta, la leo y me parece tan increíble como la primera vez que lo hice, siento que la mujer que soy y la niña que fui le reprochan severamente cada palabra.

Sonia Rosas fue mi amiga, con ella aprendí que hay lugares a los que no se puede volver. Ahora estoy consciente de que soy una gran amiga, de que doy lo mejor de mí en las relaciones afectivas y valgo mucho. También trato de ofrecer a toda mi gente querida la contención que necesitan, porque en este mundo de sombras siempre necesitamos a alguien con quien atravesar la oscuridad.

Terminaré este post con las palabras con las que Sonia termino su carta, pues en eso último coincido con ella. Es lo que practico cada día y espero que ella también lo haga y que tenga éxito en cada uno de sus intentos. Hasta la próxima.

“Nada podrá ser como fue, todo ha cambiado y no podre por más que trate ser la misma. Trataré de ser mejor con lo que viene en el futuro.”

Contenido original del autor.
Recursos: Tableta ZTE E10Q
Fotos propias
Traducido con Deepl.com
Todos los derechos reservados || @jetta.amaya// 2023

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now