The worker

The worker

Mr. Antoni is in charge of cleaning in a shoe factory, he is a hardworking and kind man. He is used to staying late at night to make sure that all areas are well cleaned to the satisfaction of Don Julian, who is the boss of the company.

In his workday he has friends who belong to the security department with whom he talks at lunchtime. One of his friends, Raul, during lunch complains and talks to him:

"I have no money to feed my children and this salary is not enough," said Raul the watchman.

Antoni replied: "My friend, I'm the same as you, but what can you do, if I don't work I don't eat".

"I've sold my car for parts, but I have nothing else to offer," Raul said, resting his forehead on his hand.

A few days later some large machines were lost in the company, it would take a lot of people and transportation to take them, fortunately Don Julian had put security cameras that served to see those who perpetrated the crime, there were many involved among them was his friend Raul. Antoni was surprised to see this and felt sorry for him, as he knew the needs that forced his friend to commit this event.

The next day when Raul entered the factory Antoni greeted him and whispered;

"Dude get in touch with your wife and get legal help because you're going to get arrested"

When the officers arrived they arrested several workers, all of whom belonged to the security department, Raul said in his defence;

"I know they are saying that I stole the machines, but I have never stolen anything".

The officers looked each other in the face and asked

"Who says that, if nobody knows anything about it?"

Raul felt cornered, if he said that no one had told him, it would be proof of his involvement, so he spoke up;

"Antoni told me that there was a rumour that I had participated in the theft of some machines, but that is not true"

The investigators, through the security cameras, knew who was involved, but wanted to know if there were others, and Raul's statement led to the arrest of Antoni, who had nothing to do with these events.

Antoni did not last long at the police station, just a few hours, because in the statement Raúl and the other detainees exonerated him of all guilt and assumed the consequences of his actions.

When he returned to the factory, Don Julián no longer greeted him in the same way and had become more serious, his innocence had been proven, but he no longer had access to some areas, and he feared that if something went missing, he might be the first suspect. So he went to present his resignation to Don Julián.

"Boss, I am sorry to bother you, I have been working with you for years and I have given you the best of service, but because of a single mistake I have made, I have become the worst of the workers, and I cannot continue working with you like this".

Don Julián looked at him and answered seriously.

"I don't think you have those bad habits, I know you well, what I am is annoyed with you, how can you fall into such stupidities, go back to your work but don't forget these words: The wise man sees evil and turns away".

Antoni kept his job because he needed it. Eventually Don Julián promoted him to head of maintenance, improving his quality of life, and as they were already good friends, from time to time they both joked, remembering the day, when he had that lesson for life.


The drawing was made by me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments