Unrequited Love

“Can you be my girlfriend?”
This was Harry’s favourite question and he asks it whenever he knows that I am in a good mood and my response would always be;

“No Harry I don’t love you, neither do I see you in a boyfriend light” he takes in my response in good faith and one would think he would give up but No, whenever he thinks I am happy, he shoots his shot again.

Harry has to be the world's most patient man, he was willing to even wait till whenever I was ready to fall in love with him, even though I made it clear to him that we had no future together but he always believed that love could grow between us as we were close friends already.

IMG_7102.png

source

I tried so many times to cut ties with him as I couldn’t watch him suffer, pinning over a girl that was never his to begin with was the most ridiculous thing on earth.

What broke the camel’s back was when Harry finally became the object of my rejection.

Harry would call tirelessly and when I see the calls I wouldn’t return them because the highlight of our conversation would be how much he loves me and couldn’t wait for us to get married and do forever together and the rest pickup lines he had up his sleeves. Did he ever get angry that I didn’t pick up his calls or return them? No, he didn’t as he would wait for a few hours before he begins the next rounds of calls again and if he ever gets through to me he wouldn’t complain, he would simply act like everything was fine, it got to me because I couldn’t stand someone’s child act like a love-struck puppy neither was I ready to love him out of sympathy just to make him happy.

I decided to finally cut all ties with him and was intentional about it but the bad thing was Harry knew my house as we were neighbors before he and his family moved out of the neighborhood, knowing my house meant knowing my family too and he was loved by my siblings, so coming to my house was not a problem to him but was wrong on all levels to me. I warned him against this attitude but no, the young man didn't listen to all my warnings until one fateful day.

It was 5:00 pm and I was getting ready for a movie date with a friend of mine who was a potential boyfriend, we decided to take things slow until we were both sure we were ready for a relationship.

I got dressed in my khaki pants and a black top, just when I was looking for my sweater as I needed to be properly covered because of the air conditioners in the cinema, in the process of looking for it, I heard a knock on my door, my sister walked in and she was smiling, the kind of smile she usually wears whenever she’s about to ask me for money or borrow my stuff, before she could utter a word I beat her to her game.

“What?” I looked at her sternly not ready for her antics.

“Calm down sis,” she said amidst giggling.

“You know I am in the middle of something, right?” I said calmly this time.

“I know, Harry is downstairs, he said he has been calling your line but it hasn’t been connecting”. She said hurriedly.

“OMG!” I exclaimed, the thought of Harry being in my house while Chris was already on his way to come pick me up sent chills down my spine.

What type of movie are we about to produce in my father's house I thought out loud and my sister chuckled, clearly she was already enjoying the movie before it even began.

I went downstairs and was greeted by Harry’s warm smile but I did not reciprocate it as I wasn’t ready to go back and forth with his love confession.

I begged Harry for the umpteenth time that I didn’t love him in a romantic way and that he should stop coming to my house, he started begging me to give “US” a chance.

I begged and begged Harry to forget about me and open his heart to love another person, while we were having this conversation I heard a knock on the front door low and behold it was Chris at the door, looking dashing as usual. Our movie was to start by 6:50 and we were almost late.

Harry just stood there watching me and Chris exchange pleasantries, he didn’t even get the cue to leave, I was so embarrassed, the kind of Hollywood movies I watch was actually happening right before my very eyes, good thing my father was not present to watch his daughter star in a romantic movie in his sitting-room.

After much persuasion with my eyes, Harry decided to leave finally, and good thing I had already discussed Harry’s confession of love to Chris before the sad incident so Chris understood the whole situation.

We finally left for the cinema and all through the movie my mind kept replaying the scene that had just taken place in my house and I felt bad for Harry, being constantly rejected by me wasn’t something to be proud of, and the fact that I had been an object of rejection a couple of times made it worse as I could understand how he felt but then again I was helpless.

Thanks for stopping by
Loads of Love🥰🥰
XOXO

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center