UNEXPECTED KINDNESS

hands-1201826_640.jpg
Image Source

Many of us would agree that one of the worst situations to find yourself is to be in an unfamiliar environment and without access to cash. This situation leaves you at the mercy of others..

One thing that's quite common with tertiary institutions in my country is the located of their campus. I've seen this in different institutions and do not know why it is so.
Most institutions will have more than one campus located in different parts of the same state, although not too far away from each other.

I was a fresher in the university and i was still familiarizing myself with my new environment, particularly the state itself. I would sometimes enter a cab going to a place I didn't know just to see what that area looks like.
I was really a socially inclined person, this particular interest in sightseeing was as a result of curiosity.

I'd always heard of our second campus, but I'd never been there because all of my lectures were usually in our main campus. I didn't have any reason to be there except to just go sightseeing which up until that moment i hadn't

On a particular day, I was expecting to receive some funds in my bank account but unfortunately my phone was dead so I couldn't confirm whether the money had been sent or not.
I had just a little cash on me enough for transportation because there were no atm machines close to where i loved outside the campus. So I decided to go out with the hope that the person would've done the transfer.

Armed with the little cash i had on me and my ATM card, I headed out in search of an ATM machine. Normally i would've taken a cab to the bank that was closer but instead I decided to go towards the other campus so as to kill two birds with one stone.

Halfway there, i spotted a bank with some machines in front and decided to use that one instead. There was a queue to use the machine but it soon got to my turn.

Alas my atm card was nowhere to be found. I searched the whole of my body but there was no card in sight and i knew this situation was smelling of trouble.

The cash on me wasn't enough to head back home and my card must've dropped in the cab I came in I thought. Further search and i felt something in my back pocket with the shape of a card and i sighed in relief.

But my joy was short-lived because upon removing the card, i realized I'd gone out with my school ID card instead of my atm card. This was a big dilemma for me because it was my first time in that area.

The only option left was to beg someone for money so i could return back home. Many people don't know this but one of the hardest things to do is beg total strangers for money.
It wasn't a nice experience but i decided to swallow my pride and beg for money.

I approached a few people and majority didn't even allow me finish explaining before they walked away. It gave me a lesson in the reality of everyday life for street beggars who have to depend on other people's generosity in order to survive.

I had already lost hope and was thinking about the distance I would have to walk to get back home when i summoned courage and approached a young guy.
He was the school ID i was holding and greeted me warmly. Apparently he was also a student of my school but he was based on the second campus.

I explained my situation to him and he gave me more than enough for my transportation back home. He gave me more money incase the money i was expecting didn't come through. It was the first time a stranger would be helping me out in that manner and i was very shocked.

I offered my thanks and he was soon on his way. I headed back to my apartment and on getting there, lo and behold my atm card was sitting comfortably beside my wallet.
I'd mistakenly picked up my school ID card instead of the atm card but I was still happy i didn't have to get a new one because I'd earlier thought it was lost.

The school ID card had saved me from a surely distressing experienced. I wished i was able to get the guys number but because my phone's battery was dead, it seemed awkward to give him mine at the time. I never came across the stranger till i graduated, but I never forgot him.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center