Sweet Mother ||| Creative Nonfiction Prompt

It was my son's three-month-old vaccination day. My Mom had called earlier to make sure I was up on time for our appointment and not without all the make sure you don't waste time after his vaccine so that you two can reach home before the sultry sun comes out, in case the vaccine will have any side effects on him, you will comfort him in the house.

I hear you mom, I will do just as you ask, was my reply while I ended the call by saying later Mummy, we love you!



On our way to the hospital, our ride arrived just in time, and the drive was very smooth and timely. At the hospital, the nurses were as friendly as usual, we did not waste time at all before it was our turn, as we were the third person on the waiting roll.

His penta 2 was administered with a needle on his left thigh, he turned to look at me then busted out crying, like Mom, what are they doing to me? oh sorry sweety, don't worry the pains will be gone in a minute. That seemed to work, as he went silent while I laid him on my shoulder.

Oh, Penta, the unfriendly vaccine, please be kind to my baby today. I said silently as I walked out of the doctor's office. Just at the front of the doctor's waiting room was this beautiful flower which I couldn't spend much time admiring due to the word of my mother, which says, make sure you head home before the sun comes out

IMG_20230611_132954_591.jpg



I said bye-bye to the flower by taking its shot with me. Back inside the taxi, just a few minutes from the hospital, there happens to be heavy traffic, this road used to be usually free this time of the day but the words on the traffic radio say there was a fuel tanker that has fallen about one kilometer from where we have been on a static position for the past five minutes and that the traffic officials, and some police are all doing their possible best to put the whole situation in control.

This time, my baby had already fallen asleep, so I started to get worried that he might wake up and start feeling pain from the vaccine if the traffic issues were not resolved in time.

The memory of his Penta-1 vaccine brings worries to my mind as I remember how uncomfortable he felt then. I hope the traffic can just move and let us get home as soon as possible.

Thirty minutes later we were still in the same position, then slowly my son opened his eyes. Oh no, here comes my worst nightmare. I hope he won't just cry. He raised his eyes and looked up to me, he gave me the look of I'm okay Mom don't worry, the vaccine seems nice today.

I thought he was going to start crying since he had been sleeping for a little while and by now the vaccine effect might start to manifest. But to my pleasant surprise, I adjusted him on my lap while he looked around to enjoy the view inside the car as we started moving slowly inside the traffic.



Our driver tuned his radio station to a new station, and a few seconds later, a song from the radio that brought so many memories started playing thus; Sweet Mother, I will never forget.....

This is one of my favorite childhood songs, I remember loving it so much because it teaches me how to appreciate my mother for all her unflinching love, and in a scenario I found myself inside the taxi that day made me appreciate my mom more, I think now that I'm a mother, all that she does is starting to make more sense.

I thought of all she might have gone through while nurturing my siblings and me That I might not even be aware of, in my heart I prayed that God would continue to keep her safe and healthy.

About twenty minutes later the road seemed all clear as our taxi began to move at more high speed. The music has stopped, making me slip into a reflective mood thinking about Mom.

Immediately we reach home, my son falls back to sleep. The vaccine seems not to have any form of painful reaction on him this time around. I put a call through to Mom telling her how much I love her for all she has been doing for me, letting her know that I will always love and cherish her. I know I do say this a lot of times Mummy but it always seems like I can never say it enough.

I know you will always love me baby she said Take care of yourself and your family bye-bye.



This is my entry to #creativenonfiction prompt-62 In Theinkwell community.

Thank you very much for visiting my blog and for your support.

Cover Image is mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center