That day was wake-up call for me!

premium_photo-1672153937750-9ea567e94026.jpeg

"You are not going to get any chef with your marriage and you know well how important for a girl to be an expert in cooking."

"O Mom! This is just a typical thinking. I don't think so."

"I am a housewife and I know that well. Have you forgotten all the meals I cooked for you and your siblings since your childhood? It's important for being a mother to be an expert in cooking."

"No Mom! How could I forget the tasteful foods prepared by you, but you know well that I have the least interest in cooking."

My Mom is just perfect in everything and she can cook well. Throughout my life, I enjoyed the tasty meals prepared by her. I remember how I was crazy about eating the food made by her, instead of eating from outside. So, she wants to see her daughters be perfect like her. My elder sisters were good at cooking, but they got married. So I became the piece of attention for my mother..lol. Since then, she advised me to go to the kitchen to cook something. But I hardly prepared an omelet.

One day, my mother woke me up in the morning and told me that she was going to my aunt's house as she was not feeling well. My father was also at work. So, that day there was no one at home except me. As soon as my mother left, I decided to have some rest again. After being in bed for more than two hours, I woke up and decided to prepare tea for myself. I went into the kitchen and boiled some water for tea. But in doing so, I stumbled and split some milk on the floor. It was looking messy, so first I cleaned it and later had my breakfast.

It was already 11: 30 am. Then I decided to clean out the house. I put my headphones on and played my favorite songs as I normally do whenever I do my household. But as soon as I started cleaning, I heard the doorbell. I immediately put off my headphones and ran to open the door. To my surprise, it was my Mom's cousin with her family. I asked them to come inside while I was trembling with fear.

They entered the lounge and it was looking messy. Somehow they sat there but I was feeling embarrassed. I was also in my nightdress. But I served them drinks and called my Mom. As I was sure my Mom's cousin would be staying here till evening. She lives in another city and whenever she comes she also has lunch at our place. So I asked my mom to come home immediately, but I was shocked to hear her answer.

"I am in the hospital with your aunt and she has been admitted there. I wouldn't be able to come until she would be discharged."

"What? But how I am going to serve lunch to your cousin? You know well, I can't cook."

" That's why, I always advise you to learn cooking."

Anyway, it was clear that my mom was not coming home, so I would be the one who would cook for them. I was really worried, but I went into the kitchen to cook food for them. After thinking for one and a half hours, I decided to prepare boiled rice with yellow pulses. It would be easiest for those who can cook, but it was difficult for me. I was also taking help from YouTube, but still, I was in great trouble. Just then, my Mom's cousin came inside and asked,

"Do you need any help?"

"Thank you, Auntie! But I will manage."

Although I refused to accept her help, inside me was in utmost need of her help lol. Anyway, after a while the food was ready. I decided to check the rice and pulse before I could serve it. The rice was too thick and the pulse was not boiled well. But it was already too late, so I served the lunch. I don’t know how I managed everything but that was a very stressful day for me. After having lunch my mother's cousin, left for her home.

I couldn't understand what happened to me that day, but this was truly a wake-up call for me. From that moment, I decided to be perfect in cooking to avoid any kind of embarrassment. Now, it's been two months, but still I am learning different recipes every day and I can say with confidence, that I can cook now.

The End!
Image source
https://unsplash.com/photos/a-cutting-board-topped-with-lots-of-food-GEb0_BBUYeE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center