Joy At Last

Joy At Last

Photo by Jesus Arias

"Babe, it's not what you think, I … I … I can explain," Dan stuttered on the bed, with a lady beside him.

"Explain what?" Dammy shouted, standing by the door.

"Gosh, you know what?" Am done, she added as she opened the door and slammed it on her way out.

"Babe, babe," Dan ran after her, pleading but she walked fast, entered her car, and drove off.

Dammy, is in her late twenties. Her father got her a job in the pension board just after she graduated from the University. She became independent and never bothered about relationships until when her parents began pressuring her about marriage.

Eventually, she met Dan, a very wealthy man who showed so much interest to the extent of engaging her. But that same day, after the engagement, Dammy visited his house in the evening and she caught him with another lady on the bed.

"Timmy, where are you? please come over to my house," Dammy told Timmy on the phone and hung up as soon as she got home.

When he came, he saw her lying helpless on the couch. "Dammy, what's wrong with you?" he exclaimed.

She didn't say a word but continued to sob. "I thought this was supposed to be your happy day, I mean you just got engaged just some hours ago," he added.

"You won't understand Timmy, men are scams, I just caught him with another lady, he is cheating on me," she replied.

Hmm, Timmy sighed and squatted close to her head, "but seeing him with another lady doesn't mean he is cheating," he responded.

"Timmy, I caught them on the bed, she shouted," with tears running down her face.

"Dammy, Dammy, how many times did I call you?" Timmy asks holding her hand.

"Timmy, this is not the right the right time please, just sit and let me be," She replied as she raised her head from the couch, her eyes were swollen and red, and tears kept dropping from them.

"Babe, it's not the end of the world, I understand you are hurt but you don't have to treat yourself like this. I mean you are a beautiful lady, come on look at you. Do you know how many men out there wish to have someone like you?" Don't let this destroy you okay? He responded.

Hmm, she sighed and looked at him then looked away again.

"Sorry okay, it is going to be fine," Timmy added, tapping her at the back.

"Timmy, my life is ruined, just when I thought I had it all, everything crumbled overnight. Do you know how I felt when he gave me this ring? She sat up and extended her left hand showing Timmy her golden ring. I thought that was it, I thought I had it all only for everything to vanish into the thin air within 24 hours. oh, Timmy, you won't understand," she replied and continued crying.

"I may not understand your situation the way you do but life happens, If Dan is yours, this wouldn't have happened. I believe this happened for good, remember I told you I don't trust him right from inception before he even talked about engagement," Timmy, responded.

"I love him, Timmy, I trusted him, I was just blinded by love to see all the red flags, I hate everything right now," she replied, as she lay on Timmy's shoulder in front of her.

"It's okay babe, it's going to be fine, you will heal, And the right man will surely come your way," Timmy replied. Then stood up and sat on the couch allowing her to rest her head on his lap properly.

She wiped her eyes with her palm, removed the ring from her finger, and dropped it on the floor, then tapped Timmy on the leg and said, "Thanks for being here for me, I can't trade you for anything. I am moving on."

Timmy, spent some time at her place that evening, cracking jokes and making her laugh. Dan kept calling but she continued rejecting the calls until she finally decided to turn off the phone.

The following day, she told her parents about it and they were so disappointed at Dan. "My dear, I am so sorry for pushing you, take your time and look for the right one," her dad apologized while seeing her off to the car.

Two days later, she heard a knock at her door early in the morning, when she opened the door she saw Dan.

"How many I help you?" she asked.

"Dammy, can we talk?" He pled.

"No, we can't, and please stop disturbing my peace," she shut the door and walked back inside.

After some minutes she opened the door and brought his ring, "Please have it, and let me be," She handed the ring to him, walked back inside, and locked the door.

He stood for some time and when he discovered she was not going to come outside again he left.

Each time she sets her eyes on him the memory comes back fresh, she couldn't go to work that day, and she cried throughout shutting herself inside.

Later that evening she called Timmy and he didn't hesitate, he came and comforted her. After some months she moved on and returned to her normal life.

Her friendship with Timmy became so strong that only sleep separated them. Her parents liked him and his parents loved her so much as well. Everyone thought they were dating but only the two of them knew what was between them.

Timmy cherished their friendship and was willing to do anything to save it. Dammy started having feelings for him but she was scared to make the first move because Timmy was a guy who didn't have time for women, to talk more about relationships.

To save their friendship she displayed her feelings by showing him excessive kindness, she bought him a house and also gave him some money to start up a business, he was so happy because since he graduated from college, he has just been teaching in a private school. He appreciated the love but he seemed to be ignorant of her feelings.

On her thirtieth birthday, Timmy asked to take her on a date and she consented.

"But Timmy, you are still trying to build up yourself as a man, you shouldn't have spent this much to make my day," she whispered on seeing the table occupied with goodies as she entered Salma Eatery after hugging him.

"Anything for you honey," Timmy replied.

She smiled and said, "Thank you."

The next minute she saw Timmy kneeling before her with a box containing a ring inside, "Will you marry me please, Dammy?" He asked.

Dammy screamed, "If this is a joke please stop it," she replied.

"I mean it, honey," he responded.

Dammy broke into tears as she said yes to him. She never expected that a day would come when she would have him as her man.

Subsequently, they got married and lived happily ever after. Meanwhile, Dan continued flirting around with ladies and eventually got a girl pregnant whom he refused to marry

Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency