Finding a New Path.


Source

It was a regular day, with me scrolling through my twitter page when I suddenly came across a scholarship program accepting applications to train women in cybersecurity from scratch and the different paths one could major in. I have always admired the ethical hackers I see in movies and how they saved the day from their keyboard but I didn't know how to go about it. So i took that as a sign an applied. While waiting for feedback from them I decided to research more about it, to know what it entails and areas to cover to get to be a professional.

When I got an email to proceed with an interview I was tense but all the prior research into the field paid off as they wanted people with a burning passion. The day I got an email that I have been accepted into the program was one of my happiest moments.

Fast forward to a few months later where my new found passion has not diminished.


I have been part of the Cybersafe foundation fellowship for about five months now. Once in a while self doubt and imposter syndrome kicks up and I have to constantly remind myself that I know what I am doing. I am curious about what would happen if I see it to the end, how it would turn out.

There was a catch the flag virtual live challenge coming up, where all the knowledge I have gathered so far in the program will be utilized in solving the problems. I got my tools installed and ready for ethical hacking and packet sniffing. Although I have actually never participated in such an event before, there was a tool that I was not familiar with so I had to research its usage online.

The day finally came and I was highly anticipating what it was going to be like, I got everything ready and even had a backup plan if there was no PHCN electricity. When the time came I put on my generator and everything was going smoothly until somehow the generator developed a fault and my laptop battery gave out. At this point I said to myself, “Just try using your phone, you have to see this to the end at least or just try to”. I then proceeded to use my phone but even I knew that completing all the tasks would be impossible with my phone.

As my hope was waning out, PHCN came through and staring at the bulb was me smiling with renewed energy, I plugged in my laptop and waited a few seconds for the system to boot up so I could continue. Some of the tasks were daunting but I wasn't about to give up.

The final moments came and the challenge ended and I was super excited to see my name on the leaderboard that I got up from my seat and did a happy dance.

My curiosity found me a new passion and career path, one that I am so grateful for because it came at a time when I was confused on my next step.


PHCN- Power Holding Company of Nigeria

The End!

Thanks for Reading


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now