Missed Connections


Source

The beauty and the health freak
Once upon a time in a city far away from her hometown, a damsel wiped away her tears and held them out in the rain. A series of notifications played a tone-deaf tune in the background. Work was crazy, her roommates were out dating, and she missed her mom's food.

There was another notification, this time from her phone. Her friend was trying to set her up with some guy. Our damsel sighed heavily, and without thinking, she sent him a text.

The guy on the other end responded instantly (way too soon). He asked her about her new job in a new city, and right on cue, she got a call from her boss. She spent the next few hours cursing her boss and working in parallel.

An ominous ping came at the stroke of midnight.

Are you ok?

She heaved a long sigh and wrote
Yes, I just got caught up in some work, but I'm free now.

The phone rang, and the girl jumped. She picked it up and started talking. It was the usual conversation about the weather, their jobs, and hobbies.

The guy on the other end started a frightening monologue on how he avoided white carbs and cycled 14 kilometres a day.

The girl shook her head and cut off the enthusiastic health freak.

"It's getting late. I should go to sleep."

Then she ghosted him.

The blunderkid

As she flew north, the damsel was in deep distress but also carried a talisman of joy. She was going home to her friends and family.

Her job had taken an unfortunate turn, and things had soured with her boss. As a result, she had been given a make-or-break project. Her friends, who shared a flat, instantly asked her to join them.

The project went well, and she celebrated with her friends at a big house party. They got drunk on a magical elixir.

Her friend, who had just broken up with her boyfriend, grabbed her phone and started scrolling through her social media.

Ooo, who's this guy? He's handsome, and he's from my hometown as well."

Ah, the health freak, he messaged me saying he's shifted here, but I didn't reply."

"I'm replying."

The damsel shrugged and looked at the inky night outside.

"You're welcome to him. The dating chapter is over for me. It is exhausting."

Her friend waved her hand and began texting at lightning speed.

Happily clever after
The next day dawned, and all the residents of the apartment were feeling the aftereffects of the elixir.

A phone kept buzzing with a melodious tune of text notifications. The damsel frowned, and her eyes grew bigger.

"Priya, what did you do?"

Priya was holding her head as if her hands were the only thing holding it together.

"What?"

"Did you text someone from my phone and set up a date?"

Priya lowered her eyes and slowly inched away.

"Go on that date with him; he's expecting you in the evening."

Priya had now moved towards her bedroom door.

"About that, I texted my ex, and we're back together. Don't be a pain and just go on a date. You never know, you might like this guy." She said it in a rush as she closed the door.

Fate and date

That evening, the damsel dressed up and went to the date in a rush.

She reached early, was tapping her foot, and got a call that he was at the meeting place. She turned around to see an extremely fit guy in a leather jacket.

"I thought we wouldn't meet. I was surprised you texted. I was watching the race yesterday and was having a bad day because Kimi had to retire. Sorry, TMI, I guess. I like F1, and there is this driver, Kimi Raikonen.

"I have a personalized autograph from Kimi in my room." The damsel replied breathlessly.

The rest is my history because this is how I met my partner.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center