That Day...


created & edited on canva pro

I would always grumble when my mother would forcefully pull me up from bed to get ready for school. I had the knack for going to bed late because I stayed up feasting my eyes on Telenovelas and cartoon shows. She'd warn me, but I wouldn't listen.

At 5:30am, I would wear that pout while taking off the clothes I had on for the night. I always slept in these flannel pajamas given to me by my cousin. She had two and wanted me to have one.

Mom would have mixed the hot water for me and would hurry me up. As a kid, rebelling was my middle name. I'd deliberately slow my steps while glaring at her. She'd get mad and would threaten to hit me. I'd hiss at her and proceed to take my bucket of water to the bathroom. Now that I think about it, my feet would hasten automatically. I was always scared of her beatings and I still am, although she hasn't touched me in years!

I was really an angry kid and would grumble all the way to the bathroom. Cussing at everything but I'd still not forget to greet my elders on the way to the bathroom. It was a detached house. Just a living room and a bedroom, the kitchen was shared by the tenants and so were the bathrooms. Two bathrooms and two toilets. My personal favorite was the first bathroom because it was spacious and didn't have a faulty door like the second.

I'd carry myself back to the room more awake and calmer; less angry. Mom was a teacher who was ethical to a fault. She would be dressed and ready by the time I was out of the bathroom. Yeah. She had her bath way earlier.

When I was out, she'd help me with my school uniform and ask me if I'd gotten my books for the day together. I'd roll my eyes and answer the very same affirmative answer. She'd hand me pocket money and would leave ahead of me. The School she worked at was about 10 minutes away if she got transportation on time while mine was just a measly five minute walk.

I don't know what about that day was different. Maybe It was because Jennifer (God rest her soul) didn't walk to school with me because she was sick or maybe because I felt unsettled than usual, but I can never forget this day. Nothing prepared me for it.

I was time-keeper, a position among Prefects in school. I came out to ring for the change of period when I saw him. He was visibly taller than me, dark skinned with clean cut hair (bald). The sun was practically bouncing off his head. So shiny.

I kept looking at this man as he walked in my direction, maybe I was mistaken but he might have been staggering. Then I rung the bell and he walked past me and I'm pretty sure my nose shrunk by several degrees! The man reeked of alcohol!

I quickly rushed to tell my mates what I'd just witnessed. Nigerian kids! Esau, the shortest one in class who had quite a quirky personality excused himself to go 'pee'. How convenient.

Not long after his return, the Vice Principal walked in with the same man. I didn't even need to tell the class who he was as his 'perfume' preceded him.

I caught Mercy as her mouth fell open. She stared at the man with recognition. I missed the part of the introduction and only caught the "He is your knew C.R.K teacher." Come again miss?

C.R.K is acronym for Christian Religious Knowledge. Now, how do we combine Christian with Drunk? I could tell by the look on their faces that my classmates echoed my thoughts.

We all had to sit through the torture of his breath and scratchy voice. I caught a whiff of his cologne mixed with sweat and it churned my stomach. No. I would not deal with this for the rest of the term.

By the time the man left for the next period, I barreled towards Mercy. She was a chubby girl, really pretty, with full cheeks and lips. Her dark skin was flawless. I used to admire her. Her teeth were pearly whites. Her eyes held this glint every time like she was always plotting something. I guess we all have our quirks...

I immediately asked her why she'd looked like that. She'd whispered dramatically that the man was her mother's 'most loyal customer'. Now my eyes nearly fell out their sockets and laughter ripped through me. Her mother owned the most potent local bar in the area. It was always flowing with drunks.

Esau heard. His ears were quite long for someone of his height. He was quick to broadcast the message to the class. He was a gossip lover. Dorcas the class prefect was disgusted with this development. The boys just had fun and laughed. Dorcas was however displeased and made it a mandate to stop the preposterous situation from developing further.

Like the boss she was, she asked me to come with her and I did. You don't tell Dorcas, the almighty class prefect - neat to a fault - No. She led us straight to the Principal's office and begun to relay what had happened. I confirmed what I'd seen earlier on the school field. Esau spoke up too. He followed us!

He and Mercy apparently because she gave her story too. The Principal wasn't at all pleased. The Vice received quite a lashing and she wasn't happy with it at all. She said she had the flu and couldn't smell.

Well, my mother had a good laugh when she got home that day. I left no details out. Even till date, we make joke with it. It is seared in my mind.


This is my entry to The Inkwell's Creative Nonfiction Prompt Week 17. You can find the details in the link.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now