A fight for good.

I was 3 months postpartum when the NGO that I worked with told me about a special case. I have forgotten the medical condition the boy was suffering from, but he had a birth defect.

Apparently, he was born without an anus, as his butthole was sealed at birth.

At the time of his birth, the family could not afford the whole process of his corrective surgery, so they did the first stage which was what they could afford.

In order for the boy to be able to defecate, his rectum was channeled to his stomach, so he passed feces from there.

As he grew older with his condition, it became evident that he needed surgery and his parents still could not afford it, so they sent an SOS to their family members of which the boy's maternal uncle reached out to a friend, who reached out to the NGO I worked with.

Let us call the boy Fabian.

Seeing the severity of Fabian's case, we treated it as an emergency and while the NGO wanted to just send the money down to the parents to carry out the surgery, I kicked against it because from experience, I knew that money will be used for everything else aside the boy's surgery.

At the time, I should still be nursing my daughter, and I was the only one suitable for that job, so I told my boss that I'd travel down.

He asked how about my child? On whose care will I leave her? I told him she travels with him, and he kept asking how do I deliver on the job? If I'd be with my toddler, and that's where my mom came in.

I informed my mom and showed her the soft copy case file of Fabian, and she was compassionate towards his plight and further agreed to journey with me and baby sit my daughter while I work.

Thus, we set out to Fabian's hometown, Modakeke in Osun state, where he resides with his family.

When we arrived, we swung into action immediately, as there was no time to waste. I got another current estimate for the surgery and sent across to the NGO, of which the money was wired directly to my account.

We made the deposit to the Hospital's account and Fabian was booked for surgery, then the challenges started.

Before the surgery, Fabian was to undergo some X-ray tests and there was a medical substance needed for usage on Fabian before the X-ray can be carried out for the surgery to hold.

This substance, however was unavailable not even at the hospital pharmacy. A federal government owned hospital, which happens to be among the top three best in the country, a teaching hospital at that, claimed not to have that medical substance.

“So what do you want us to do now that you do not have the capacity to carry out the X-ray?” I asked the head doctor of Fabian's medical team in a distressed tone.

“I don't know madam, only two States have it, Abuja and Lagos, and it will take 14 days to get here.” He answered casually.

“14 days? Doctor I don't have that luxury of time, I do not live here, I come from a far place all the way in Delta. I am a nursing mother who wants to get this done, so I can move on, at least for the sake of my child.”

“Well I'm sorry Madam, either you place order and wait or alternatively, there's some left over a patient remained, we could get you linked up with the patient so you can buy from them.” He kept writing as he responded and didn't even bother to look at me.

At that point, my mood spoiled, I was visibly angry because what sort of incompetency is this?

I didn't say a word, I just walked out of the office, made a video and sent a situation report to the NGO.

My director became furious on hearing the news and asked we source for the substance ourselves. The video I made was uploaded on Facebook to aid in sourcing for the item.

I at my end, immediately started placing calls, but we were told the same thing from the hospital. We got really frustrated because the NGO can't afford the cost of keeping me there.

More so, going back to my state and coming back again, would be too stressful…. We needed to get the whole thing done.

I got back to my hotel room, freshened up, sat on the bed and briefed my mom on all that's happened, as I awaited further instructions.

I felt awful for the boy because he had been through a lot. He has been out of school since he was born and has a very slow growth process and just needed to be ok.

As I complained angrily to my mom, she consoled me.

“Why don't you sing the Hu (Pray) and trust God for a miracle?” She said calmly to me as she placed her hand on my shoulder from behind.

I didn't feel her advice would work, but I took it any way, especially since I would have to contemplate afterward which will help me calm down.

I did as my mom advised. Barely 5 minutes into my chant, my phone rang, it was my boss.

“Guess what?” He asked in excitement.

“What? What is it? What happened?” I asked back anxiously.

“You will not believe where that video you sent to me has reached. As I speak with you now, the Minister of Health is on the case, Presidential villa is on the case, and they are currently calling the hospital as to why something of that nature is not at their disposal.”

The way I shouted wow! My boss started laughing and told me to hang in there, everything will be ok, we don't need to travel back home just yet.

Immediately I got off the phone, my mom rushed me and was asking what happened? I gave her the load down, and she said "see? I asked you to trust in God for a miracle."

Furthermore, I was so excited and in a celebratory mood, my phone started ringing none stop, I picked up the call and it was the head doctor.

He was so angry as he accused me of trying to tarnish the reputation of the hospital and cost him his job. I, on the other end, did not feel threatened as I fired back at him.

He ended the call angrily, and then I started receiving calls from numerous strange numbers that I refused to take. My mother got scared, as she felt I might get harmed for challenging the head doctor and making a video to expose their incompetence.

"Remember we are in their land, don't do anything that will attract harm to us." My mother warned in the heat of the whole thing.

Late into the night, the hospital sent me an official email that an alternative to the substance we needed was available at the hospital pharmacy and that I should reach out for purchase, so Fabian's X-ray test can be done for the surgery to be carried out.

The next morning, being Friday, I got to the hospital as early as I could and noticed that the reception changed! Everyone was walking on eggshells around me.

Whatever office I introduce myself and present my NGO ID card, they were giving me express delivery of whatever it takes to facilitate Fabian's surgery.

As I walked out of some offices, I could hear a side murmur of how I reported the hospital to the government via Facebook and how I am trouble. I'll just smile and proceed to the following agenda for the day.

By the close of work, his X-ray was done and all documentation for Fabian's surgery was sorted out and set, ready for the operation which commenced on the Monday of the following week.

We had budgeted three weeks for the operation procedure as they told us the surgery was in two parts. The first to be done coming Monday and the second to commence in two weeks time from the first surgery.


FIRST SURGERY

According to the Surgeon, for the first operation, a butthole will be created and the muscles/nerve endings around the anus will be worked upon.

SECOND SURGERY

For the second surgery, we were told his intestines will be rearranged and his rectum channel to the newly constructed anus



AFTER THE SURGERY

The surgery took almost the whole day, and I was right outside the theater with the boy's father.

Another miracle happened after the surgery or should I say the fear of losing their jobs made the medical team transparent with the entire operation.

We got called into the ICU when the entire operation was over and when I saw Fabian I broke, in fact, I cried because never in my life have I seen a human being in such vulnerable state.

As I stood by the edge of the bed, watching him lie helplessly and almost lifeless, the assistant Surgeon walked up to me.

“So when does the second operation commence?” I asked the surgeon as I pulled myself together and wiped the tears off my face.

The Surgeon looked at me in excitement as he said to me, “I know this news will excite you.”

He continued, “at first we didn't know it will be possible to carry out the whole operation at once but as we progressed, we saw that it was doable and there was no need for a second surgery.”

By now I was already smiling from ear to ear, but to be certain what I had heard is same as the information passed, I inquired again..... “So you mean both the first and second surgery has been done with this just concluded operation and there will be no need for the boy to go under the knife again?”

“Yes, he's a lucky boy.” The surgeon said as he was just as excited as I am.

If not for professionalism, I would have jumped on him and given him a tight squeeze (hug) as my happiness knew no bound at the time. Their actions didn't just save us money, it also saved us time as the entire operation was efficiently executed.


However, the Consultant warned that Fabian most times, will not have control over his bowel movements. Thus, he will at some point poo on himself subconsciously.

To save him the embarrassment, it was advice he should always be on diaper.



Fast-forward to the previous year, the boy's uncle sent us an after photo of Fabian on life after his surgery.

I had in previous years post surgery, tried to get Fabian into our homeless shelter, so we could give him the basic necessities of life till he's 18 but his parents refused. Instead, they asked for money.

In all, I'm glad Fabian got another shot at a happy life.

PS
ALL IMAGES ARE MINE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center