Home Alone

unsplash

Away from the hustle and bustle of the world and people. In the background at a glance, you can only see a stretch of grass that is partly dry and a few pine trees. As the sun began to set, slowly approaching the beautiful appearance of the world's horizon, the reflection of the sun's distinctive rays peeked from the sidelines of the hills, creating shadows from the shady cypress trees and the growing number of weeds.

The sky began to change color, as if ready to welcome the arrival of night time. The sound of insects one by one began to sound quite loud. From the window of the family room house, I saw the sky was getting dark because it was cloudy and some mist had begun to cover the flower garden belonging to the late grandmother in the front yard of the house, "It looks like it will rain tonight" said my heart.

The sound of lightning began to sound faintly. The breeze began to sound, entering every crevice of the house and its gusts touched my skin. And yes, as if without further ado, the rain fell very hard, so that it created an irregular sound above the roof of the house, along with the rain, from the outside there was a distinctive smell of earth that had been dry for several months.

The smell of earth after it rains is refreshing and always reminds me of my childhood with friends. Playing in the rain, throwing mud at each other without the slightest fear of getting a fever and ignoring the loud sound of thunder. But, now it's not like before, the bonds of friendship that were forged since childhood now feel foreign because of their respective interests and busyness.

On this quiet and lonely night, I was accompanied by a cup of black coffee whose aroma of coffee and sugar blended together to make it fresh and quite warm. The music and songs of Mozart and Beethoven further added to the romantic evening that I would spend alone without a partner. I sit in the rocking chair that leads to the window, close my eyes, occasionally I take a sip of coffee, then close my eyes again, inhale the air, interpreting each verse of the lyrics of the songs I'm listening to. The chair swaying like a lullaby, I fell asleep for a while, awakened by the loud sound of frogs and crickets.

The rain started to stop. Suddenly the electric light went out. I got a little confused. The sound of rats above the ceiling and from the barn behind suddenly broke the silence in the darkness. I immediately got up with the light of the cell phone screen light. Even though the atmosphere is dim, this is my own house so I've quite memorized every corner room in the house. I walked carefully, opening the drawer of my sister's toy cupboard in the left corner near the bookshelf. Then fumbled for an item that was urgently needed at this time, candle.

I took a few candles and lit them one by one and then I put them in several corners of the room where there should have been lighting. I sat back in the rocking chair. Close your eyes again, carefully plug your ears so that the sound of the faucet water from the kitchen dishwasher seems to be loud. In closing my eyes, I let my mind drift to visit my past with someone I couldn't possibly have. Argh damn, even though I've tried to forget those memories, there are things that make me remember them again.

At the end of the night, from every part of the world, some people return to their beds to sleep, some may be missing someone tonight, crying for their long lost lover, some are still working. The night grew quieter, and I was so absorbed in my thoughts that I myself unconsciously fell asleep in the rocking chair.

The End

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency