SECRET CRUSH

I still remember the first time we talked. It was on a Sunday morning. The sun had just risen, casting a warm glow over the small city of Eagle island. The sky was a brilliant blue and small white clouds were scattered all over it, creating a beautiful contrast with the blue sky. The sweet sound of birds chirping and humming added to the making of the perfect sunny weather. We were at church that faithful day. The Word of God Assembly was having their Annual thanksgiving and, as such, other branches that were under them were supposed to be present. The Church, as enormous as it usually is, was barely able to contain the great number of people that graced the occasion that day.

As the service commenced, the congregation sang their hymns in one unified voice, being led by the choir who were in high spirits, eagerly backing up the lead soloist in their colorful uniform attires. They were all dressed in a white button-up shirt and a royal blue skirt and trousers respectively, paired with a blue tie and a blue baret.


Source

From the hymn, we gradually drifted into the worship session. The keyboardist busied himself playing whatever song the lead singer was singing at the altar. And while the choir backed up the soloist, the drummer played like there was no tomorrow. The worship was so intense that day. You could hear the fervent prayers and cries of some members during the worship. It was the kind of worship that would make you want to roll on the floor and just give your all to God.

When the worship session came to an end, it almost brought me to tears. Grabbing my phone from my seat, I excused myself from the congregation, needing to go freshen up. While people were still trooping in to church, I was heading out and so the passage door was rather crowded with people. As I made my way to the female restroom, the abrupt ringing of my phone distracted me for a bit. I didn't notice the person walking in the opposite direction, and before I knew it, I had clashed heavily with a strong tall figure. Luckily for me, my phone didn't fall off my hands.

"Ouch!" I exclaimed as I looked up at the figure.

Behold, I was met with a pair of two familiar brown eyes. My heart skipped a bit at the realization of whom I had just bumped into.

"George!" I said.

" I'm so sorry Amy," he said, staring apologetically at me.

I couldn't help but blush a little

" It's no problem dear, it's even my fault, I wasn't looking where I was going" I quickly said, cutting him off.

He smiled warmly at me.

" I guess your still as clumsy as ever" He said teasingly.

I laughed at his statement and I felt the tension leaving my body. This was one of the reasons I liked George. His care-free, easygoing nature made him very easy to talk to and get along with.

" You just won't let that one incident go, will you?" I answered back with a smile.

"I don't think so, I mean you spilled drink all over me that day" He fired back teasingly.

" That was so long ago, how can you still hold that against me" I asked him, bemused.

" Yh that was a long time, and ever since then you've been keeping me on the fence.He answered.

" How do you mean" I asked, confused.

" Well, sometimes you act like we're not close, while other times like now, you act like we are the best of friends", he explained further.

" Really, I didn't realize I made you feel that way" I answered back.

" But we are friends, aren't we?" I asked to be sure.

" Of course, we are" he answered back.

"I guess I owe you an apology for blowing you hot and cold" I teased.

He smiled, his eyes crinkling in the corner.

" It's okay, just don't spill another drink on me" he said jokingly, and I rolled my eyes at him.

" I'll see you inside then" I said dismissively.

" Yh sure" he answered went in.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments