I Was Fortunate

Zain Ali
Before I started trading, I had seen hell when it comes to the aspect of searching for a job. In Nigeria, here, before one can see a profitable job one would know someone in a position, or else, you are on your own.

My husband would tell me to inform a man who was a next-door neighbour. His name is Mr. Kareem. Mr. Kareem has been working with the government and has countless opportunities. I have always ignored him just because of the way he relates to people. He talks rudely and does not look at the status of the person he is dealing with.

I have always passed by him and greeted him several times. To talk to him was so tough. He was hard to talk to and has been seen as someone who does not laugh. It got to a time, my neighbours began to say things that were not palatable to my hearing. They would say, “She is always at home waiting for her husband to put food on her table”. These words have given me too much pain, and I do not know whether to confront them or to let them be. I told my husband about their running mouths and how they behave towards me. They would say rubbish anytime they see me coming.
My husband told me to ignore them. “Ignore them, as they know not what they are saying”.

My husband told me he would speak to him but had always forgotten. He does not take things seriously when it comes to issues like this. I never want to give him chances to speak to him no matter the condition, since he is helping people gain numerous opportunities. My husband has been discouraging me, but somehow I have seen success coming out of it if we see him.

I told my husband once again to see him since he is at home. My husband was still feeling discouraged, but after putting much pressure, he stood up and accelerated to his house.
“Please, Sir, I need to see you”, my husband said.
“Hope no problem?” Mr. Kareem asked with a cool voice. According to my husband, he spoke not like the way we knew him to be, but like someone calm.

“My wife is a graduate and has searched for jobs all over without acquiring one. We have even submitted her CV to some reputable companies, yet, no green light to show good news”, my husband said calmly.

“Tell her to prepare her CV first thing tomorrow morning”, Mr. Kareem said without asking further questions.

After three days, I was called to resume a job without undergoing interviews. Wow…what a great difference this has made in my life. Convincing my husband to speak to the man truly made a difference.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center