A few words changed my life

Good day to you all in the inkwell community.



I remain this humble soul who is always ready to appreciate my existence on the surface, once we realize that staying alive is never by our power or might then we know that all we have to do in life is to thank God for his mercy and grace over us.

Many times we get encouraged by a lot of things. It might be a piece of music we enjoy listening to and we keep it on repeat until we get satisfied. It might be a picture. It might be a movie we watched and felt motivated by the storyline and lessons passed across. And it could also be a speech from someone or even just a few words and it will get stuck in our brains. Whenever we recall all these moments then we get to realize that we have to keep it going.


Pixabay.com

I have heard a lot of words in my life, some are provoking and some are motivating. Some are prayers and just normal words.

If I should start writing all the words that have motivated me to where I am today or any motivational phrase I listened to in this write up then I will be dropping a novel or an epistle here. So I will just narrow it down to the one I felt had a great impact on my life and related to my present career.



My story.

I never thought I would be an agriculturist. I already made a lot of write up about becoming an agriculturist and my journey towards becoming one. It has been a long time since I have wished to be a farmer, though back then I didn't know what it took to become one. But I knew my love for nature is part of what triggered me.


Pixabay.com

I would have dreams and visions of a home where I own a great plot of land and at one corner of the land is my apartment and the rest are filled with life stocks and plants though I get inspired to be in other professions too. I once said I will be an aeronautical engineer in the future 😂.

As time passed by I changed to a different career till I was done with my secondary school education. After this, my eyes opened that it’s not just making a mouth that gets one to accomplish those dreams but efforts and dedication.

After all my exams, it was time to get admission. Before sitting for my final examination I was asked to change my course of study from microbiology to other available courses 🥲😢. I felt sad at first but in the end, I saw Agriculture. Ooh! So I can study agriculture. Without hesitating, I chose agriculture immediately.

Time flew, and I was admitted into the university to study agriculture. This is where something funny happened. I thought it would be about us going to the farm mostly and rearing livestock. But when I got to school it was a different story. I had to study a lot of theory instead without any practice relating to agriculture. My first semester was so bad. I got admitted late, I had to settle down and also rush all my registration and attend classes too. It was just a few weeks before the exam. I felt I could be better. And if I can’t then that's all.

After writing the first semester exams our results came out and I was eager to check. I thought I had done the best I could. I checked the result and I realized how I have failed woefully. I couldn’t believe it was my result.

I have been showing my results to my parents for all my days in secondary school but I don’t think I am going to present this to them. I showed it to my brother and he said I should go ahead and show my parents. I felt reluctant.

At the end of it all I sent it to them at home and was expecting them to scold me for not passing those exams.

My dad called but I didn’t pick up. He sent me a message that changed my life.


I got your results.
You can do it. Remember how you’ve never failed Agriculture as a subject in your secondary school days? Get yourself together and believe it’s still the same Agriculture you are into, but just a little advanced. You will see yourself soaring higher.


I got his message and felt relieved for a while. We talked on the phone too. Mum also encouraged me.

In my institution, once you fail both semesters and you are unable to meet up with a certain grade point you won’t be able to further your studies automatically.

The second semester was rough but I gave it my best. I became a regular in the library and had a lot of late-night classes. It wasn’t easy. But every time I remember those texts I get motivated to do more. When our results came out I wasn’t surprised at all because I knew I deserved it and worked for it. I passed all my courses.

I was able to advance to the next level and till I became a graduate of agriculture I never gave up. It was tough but I kept on growing stronger than ever.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center