ProofOfBrian has notified almost 400 people of their typos

I created the @proofofbrian Hive bot less than a year ago to tell people if they had mis-typed the #proofofbrain tag as I saw quite few cases of that such as #prooofbrain and #poofofbrain. It was also a programming exercise for me as I wanted to try writing a Hive bot. The task was made easier by the beem Python library. The main developer has disappeared, but some others have done updates. We really need such tools to encourage more people to develop on Hive. Perhaps it needs to be taken on as an 'official' project with someone getting paid to maintain it via a proposal.

The code for my bot has been very stable and reliable. I only tend to run it when I am using my PC. I have looked into having a Raspberry Pi run it, but I have had issues getting one set up. On my last attempt I created a boot drive, but it did not fully work.

The bot only notifies each person once with a comment (and a vote). It keeps a file of those accounts to do this and that has almost 400 entries now. The latest is below, but they are much less frequent now as a large proportion of active Hive users have already been caught out.

Log

It might be possible to get rid of some of these errors, perhaps by changing to a different node, but it is not exactly a critical service. The bot gets replies thanking it and a few votes, but I am not expecting to make much. People should not take it too seriously as it has not authority.

I would like to do more projects like this, but I need to come up with some ideas. I am so interested in anything involving managing large sums of tokens as that is a lot of responsibility. I admire those who do take on such challenges. As well as creating something useful or compelling you have to defend it against attackers who will try to get funds dishonestly.

If you think I can help with your project then get in touch and I will have a look, but I do have other commitments.

I do have my existing projects of @tenkminnows and #BritList. The former just needs me to monitor the accounts it votes for using Hive Vote to see who graduated to minnow, and then look for new people to support. For the latter I have other scripts to find other people in the UK to add to the list. I will be generating a new list this weekend, so please let me know of anyone I may have missed. I rely on people putting relevant location data on their profile, but many either do not set it or use something that would not make their location obvious. Of course it is a matter of choice if you want to give away where you are.

I would encourage others to play with beem and @hivesql. You have access to a huge amount of data. You can analyse it in various ways or provide services to the community. Some of us find that fun.

The man behind: @tenkminnows: Helping good Hivers level up

@proofofbrian: A bot that checks for tag typos

#BritList: A monthly list of Hivers in the UK

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center