Movie At Midnight In The Red Light

Two weekends ago, my partner and I went to see the movies. We're a fan of late-night movies and there's only one cinema (that I know of as of this time) that has movie schedules up to 1 AM, that is Toho Cinemas Shinjuku.

Toho Cinemas Shinjuku is located in the red light district of Tokyo, Kabukicho in Shinjuku. I have featured Kabuchiko in my blogs before because I frequent this place but I don't think I have shown you what this place looks like from midnight to dawn.

Toho Cinemas Shinjuku has that noticeable Godzilla at the top of the building

It's not really all the time that this theater has cinema schedules that are passed midnight. It's just that this weekend they have extended the movie time schedule for one particular movie - the movie that we have watched - One Piece Film: RED. I already made a post about the movie and my thoughts about it last week.

Last April when the new Detective Conan (or Case Closed in some countries) movie was released, we also watched the movie at midnight in this cinema. I think they anticipate that the movie will have a lot of viewers so they open til late, maybe for that Saturday the movie is released and it may extend to next Saturday too depending on the situation.

We took the last train to Shinjuku that Saturday night. There were a few people when we walked from Shinjuku Station to Kabukicho. Probably because it just stopped raining. That whole Saturday it rained so hard and just stopped a few hours before midnight.

Crossing the street to go to Kabukicho from Shinjuku Station

I was expecting that since it rained, there would also be a few people in Kabuchiko or maybe none. I imagined it to be a ghost town. But well, there were still a few people wandering in the night in this red light district.

The clubs and pubs area

To the entrance/exit. Lots of food restaurants in this area

Restaurant and gaming area

I think we had a great view of the place from where we were standing. We're just outside the cinema building. We haven't entered it. There's still a lot of time before the movie starts.

It's actually messy. There were trash everywhere. Maybe it's not so visible in the photo but there was. There was even a broken umbrella a few steps away from where we were.

Some people came from nowhere

Few moments later, there were groups of people gathering in the streets of Kabukicho. I didn't notice where they came from though. I was preoccupied with the people falling in line in the gaming area, as if there's something valuable or limited edition. I didn't investigate the matter fully because my partner wanted to stop by the convenience store before going to the theater.

Late night restaurants and clubs with their staff waiting outside looking for customers

I waited for him outside the kombini (how Japanese calls convenience store). I think it was a bad idea because I was in the clubs and pubs area, they might bring me somewhere and I wouldn't be able to pay. LOL

While standing there, I saw a girl being guided by a male guy, definitely a host, telling her the ATM's location. Hmm.. 😏

We didn't stay long in the kombini. A few seconds of standing outside made me a little scared for my life. πŸ˜…

Going to the theater

We're now going to the theater. It's located on the 3rd floor of the building. The shops and restaurants on the first floor were already closed at that time. And we didn't check the hotel and the head of Godzilla located in the 8F. Maybe for another day. It's midnight LOL

So far, I haven't tried the 4D in this theater. I have watched it in IMAX but that was in Toho Cinemas Hibiya.

Food area

Ticket corner

Printing our tickets that I bought online a few hours before going to the cinema

I felt safe here in the theatre than outside. πŸ˜‚

After printing our tickets, we bought food and drinks. A movie is a great excuse to buy popcorn. πŸ˜‚ I think 90% of the time I watch a movie in the cinemas, I buy popcorn.

My first churro in Japan (or maybe in my entire life? I forgot)

The churro was so long and the container I was holding's built for popcorn and drinks, not for the churros. I was so careful for it not to break. Luckily, it didn't.

We got to the cinema lobby so early. We're watching the movie on Screen 9 and it's still being prepared. Couldn't go inside yet so we had no choice but to stand and wait. There were seats just outside this lobby, but it's not allowed to bring food and drinks outside. There were no seats in this lobby. Would be better if there were.

While waiting, I was busy looking around while my partner went outside for a while.

The souvenirs corner

Souvenirs corner and a crane game!

Minion near the entrance

Candies!

Ads for the upcoming movies

We didn't wait that long to enter the theater.

Around the cinema premises

Here we go!

Luxury, premium, and normal seats are available in this theater

Premium seat looks like this

The movie finished at around 3:30 AM. When we went out, there were still a few people around Kabukicho. I imagined them to be going home or waiting for the first train.

Going out Toho Cinemas Shinjuku

The gaming area and going further, some clubs and pubs

The people falling in line was outside the sign GiGo but they're gone already. I wonder what that line was about.

Restaurants and some clubs near the other entrance/exit path

This place is really lively even at this time. I wonder how it looks in the morning. Maybe this is one of the places in Tokyo that never sleeps.

We didn't stay in the Red Light District further. After the movie, we walked back home.

We just crossed the tunnel from Kabukicho and it's so quiet in this side

Other side of Shinjuku is like a ghost town unlike the Red Light District

Does it look like the PS5?

The other areas in Shinjuku also sleep. πŸ˜…

Watching a movie on a Saturday midnight is really fun and peaceful. It's not so crowded so it doesn't drain me that much. You could choose where to be seated and you won't have someone beside you.

The only thing to note is not to be alone especially if you're a woman. Since the cinema is located in the Red Light District, it's still kinda scary to be alone if you're not used to these kinds of places.


Thanks for reading!
See you around! γ˜γ‚ƒγ‚γ€γΎγŸγ­οΌ


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center