Detective Conan Movie 25: The Bride of Halloween | Movie Thoughts

Disclaimer: This is going to be my first movie/anime sharing. Please bear with me as I do this since I'm not used to it. And also, I was watching the movie in Japanese with no English subtitles whatsoever and I'm not super good at Japanese so there might be few gaps LOL.



Source

Detective Conan is actually my favorite anime of all time. I love mystery and solving crimes so I would never skip this anime.

If you don't know anything about Detective Conan, let me give you a quick summary.

Kudo Shinichi is a great high school detective. One night as he was following some suspicious men, he was caught by them. These men from the Black Syndicate forced him to drink a "medicine", then he transformed to a kid. Professor Agasa advised him to hide his identity and went by the name Edogawa Conan so the syndicate won't know he is still alive. While doing this, he is living with Ran, his childhood sweetheart, and Ran's father, Mouri Kogoro who is not the best detective. Conan have been making Mouri Kogoro sleep while he is stating his deductions, thus dubbing Mouri-san as Nemuri no Kogoro which means Sleeping Kogoro.

As of this day, the anime has 1050 episodes, not counting the OVAs, movies and other specials. The very first episode was from January 1996 and up til now, the anime is not yet finished! Conan remains a kid for 2 decades already. 😂

By the way, I watched all the episodes, OVAs, movies and everything else, even the live action. That's how hooked I am in this anime.

About The Movie

Warning: Some spoilers ahead.

The movie started with Detective Sato Miwako's wedding to Detective Takagi Wataru. It’s a very touching event because who doesn't get moved when it’s a marriage? Well, that's how almost every Japanese reacts when seeing someone in a wedding dress so you will notice that in the movie scene, everyone is looking at Sato-san with starry eyes. Conan is even looking at Ran after seeing Sato-san in a wedding dress.

But don't be fooled! They aren't yet married!

It's just a mock marriage. Somebody else is going to be married in one of the high rise buildings in Shibuya on the Halloween. Hence, the movie title.

Furuya Rei and his classmates

Source: Screenshot from trailer

The movie will recall some memories of the past, particularly Furuya Rei or Amuro Tooru and his classmates so it's important to know their history before watching the movie. All of his classmates died already but their memory lives on in this movie. I like this part because I enjoy watching their friendship. You can definitely see that they trust each other. I like that kind of friendship, the ones that are true. Even after the years, they pay their respects to their important friend. And hey, they are all good looking men which is a plus!

Furuya Rei or Amuro Tooru

Source: Conan Movie News

Unfortunately, Amuro-san's great moves are only seen in the last part of the movie but it was really amazing. Believe me, he looks so cool maneuvering the helicopter and the life-and-death scene jumping off from the helipad, that was one of the cool scenes in the movie. I was so amazed!

Another thing that I like of the movie is not just fully Japanese. There’s another language that they had to add Japanese subtitles to the viewers. Of course it’s not in English because this movie is showing in Japan so they are expecting Japanese viewers. That time, I really want the movie to be in slow mode just for me to read the Japanese subtitles. Argh! 😂

Guest character エレニカ・ラブレンチエワ (Elenika, I don't know the correct spelling in english sorry!)


Source: Conan Movie News

Elenika plays a major role in this movie. Her life story saddened me. The tragedy that happened in the past explains her actions in the present. Can you guess her nationality?

I also like the part that Nemuri Kogoro is not the one who solved the issue. It was all Conan. The Detective Kids were there but the focus wasn’t with all of them. They had the supporting role and an important one in the most important scene.

I was greatly moved that I couldn’t help but let my tears escaped when the foreigners helped the kids. That was a great display of bayanihan, a Filipino term meaning people volunteered to help one another deliver results. It’s something cooperative or collaborative but I can’t really pinpoint the appropriate term in English. 😅

If the movie started with a wedding, well, the ending is a burial ceremony. Who died? I won't say, I think it's better if you watch the movie. I've said too many spoilers already. 😂

Lastly, I like that they have adapted the modern culture in the movie. And what's more, setting is in Shibuya! If you have been to Shibuya before, maybe you can relate to the movie. They have a great way of showing Shibuya in the anime movie.

Trailers

No Subs

Here's the original trailer taken from the movie website.

With EN Subs

If you want to watch the trailer with english subtitles, here's the video.

Opening Introduction

Usually in every Detective Conan show, Conan will introduce a bit of himself and the characters. In this movie, the introduction is so nice! I like the vibes. And yes, this area is in Shibuya! Sorry no english subtitles


This is Detective Conan's 25th movie. I have watched the movie in the theatre 2 times even when there's no English subtitles. And I must say, I want to watch it again and again. That is how good it is! Someone even told me I'm so crazy watching it 2 times in the cinema. 😂

If you haven't watched it yet, please do!
In some countries, the movie is not yet showing in the cinemas but here, it's been months since the movie aired and people are still watching it!

Please let me know your thoughts in the comments.
And please let me know if you're an anime fan as well! Maybe you can recommend something for me to watch. 😅

Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!



Source: Movie website (Japanese only)
 
All photos are from the movie website cited above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center