BANANA PAINTING

I visited my uncle and his family last week. Is been long I visited him. As an engineer, he's always busy traveling from one company to another. He deals on recycling palm kernal into finished products like cream, groundnut oil, soap, etc. Enough of my uncle and his business, that will be another story for another day.

Clean up
I was cleaning his room on Saturday evening when I saw the above pictures pasted here. This reminds me of what happened years back when I gave birth to my son Jason Orji K. He loves eating 🍌 banana.

banana painting in my uncle's house.

My uncle loves that my son very much saying he resembles him in many ways. He equally likes painting, infact he's creative, so too is my son. Soon I will put down some of his paintings here in Hive.

When I saw the painting, I paused a bit. My mind travelled back many years ago to one incident that happened one fateful morning. I remembered that Jason likes licking banana and groundnut a lot. Standing there with broom and dustpan, I remembered how I was going to market that morning to buy food stuffs.

We were living in Enugu State then and this my uncle visited us. Jason was crying uncontrollably. He's a toddler, say two years or so. I vividly remembered that my uncle took him forcefully from my hands and flocked him.

Jason at about two years or so when the incident I described happened.

Banana and groundnut, my son's favorite then and now.

Immediately, I left them and went to market. I could hear his outcry from a far. I wanted to come back and nurse him to sleep but my friend refused. I was buying things in a hurry so as to go back.

What happened
While looking at the painting, my uncle walked in. There and then I asked him if he drew those paintings. He says no. But paid a friend to draw it. He says it will always remind him of my son, how he cries when he was small and how banana usually stops him from crying.

Am so happy to have such a wonderful family. Jason is now grown. He's 14 and longer cries, yet he loves banana and groundnut very much.

Those words of his made me shed tears of joy. He then told me that when I left for market that day (Jason was crying seriously) that he hurriedly went out and bought bunch of banana with groundnut alongside peanut in a nearby store. After eating to his satisfaction, he slept.

That weekend experience brought back memories that I will cherish till eternity. That my son? He's making me a proud mum both academically and scripturally.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center