Weekend Engagement : What if you didn't need to sleep?

Why do we need to sleep? I thought that we are already eating and drinking for our energy. Therefore, why do we still get tired and need to sleep? Robots don't need to sleep. Once they have been charged with energy, they can run and run.

My own theory is that it is part of the whole yin and yang (duality) of life that flows through everything and gives balance. Like that we have day and night, we also have on and off. Sleep time is maybe some requirement for our soul to recharge its batteries or mana so to speak.

My worry if we didn't need to sleep and we could be awake for 24 hours a day would be that instead of a 40-hour week, perhaps we would need to work an 80-hour week!

What would we do with our bedrooms? We would no longer need a bed, it would free up so much space. How would we describe houses in the future? A 2 or 3-bed house would now become just a 2 or 3-room house?

Would we still need a sofa? If we no longer needed to sleep, we would no longer feel tired and need to "chill out" for a bit. We would always feel fresh and energised. We would never get tired at work and would always be at our most productive throughout the whole day, even on a Monday afternoon. I do have "Flex Time" so HR can't really argue with me.

We would need to change the saying "Why don't you just sleep on it?" to "Why don't you just stay awake on it?".

With that in mind, if I didn't need to sleep anymore and had constantly full mana, I would have a lot of extra time in the night to fill.

The first thing I would probably try to change is my work time. Instead of working Monday to Friday 9 til 5, I would try and do 2 shifts per day, Monday 9 am til 5 pm during the day and then 9 pm til 5 am in the night. That would bag me 2 days of work in just 1 day! By Wednesday at 5 pm, I would be finished for the week. This would give me a 4 day (and night) weekend!

Instead of going to bed and sleeping, I would be able to finish watching all episodes that I like on Netflix and still be good and fresh to go in the morning. I could catch up on all those series that I have added to my list but not watched due to lack of time.

If I fancied playing games all night, this would be possible too! I would pull an all-nighter playing Fortnite and not worry about having to go to bed and being tired the next day. My wife wouldn't be nagging for me to go to bed, as we wouldn't have one! Win/win!

Gaining all this time is like being able to live forever! I didn't realise how much time we spend sleeping and how it affects so much of our lives.

A big task on my to-do list that I have is to finish reading some of those literary classics Opus Magnum's that I have been putting off reading. Now I have time to read about the history of Rome or the works of Plato! A 2-3000 page book is now no problem for me! Heck, I might even be able to pull off a thousand pages in one night!

Parties would be forever changed if we never slept. They could in the future literally go on all night!! Perhaps they would last a week or a month! That's a lot of partying. Would we still be passed out unconscious on the floor in the morning from alcohol when we don't need to sleep?

But the main thing I would like to do if we never slept is to be able to travel for longer, faster and easier. Without the hindrance of needing sleep and a bed for the night, I could just explore a place during the day and then get the night bus to the next town and keep on going! It would sure speed up tourism. No need for any hotels or Airbnb!

Thanks for reading.

Photos are my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center