How I Overcame Nonchalance. WE90

png_20220225_100049_0000.png

Good morning weekenders. It's another time to spend quality time having fun, attending events and maybe visiting a friend we have seen for quite a while. Today, I wish to intimate you all, readers and followers on a habit I once possessed. You know, change is the only dynamic thing.

All great changes are preceded by chaos.
Deepak Chopra

Here, from the series of posting topics for this weekend, I have decided to dwell on the fifth option to express gow my youthful exuberance had one time almost cost me a lifetime or shame and regrets. Come with me as I take you through this journey.

Option five: Lost it
Have you removed a habit, strange personality quirk or oddity over the years? What did you used to do, but do not do anymore. What prompted you to make the change, how did you make it and what benefits have you gained or lost?

A habit could be described as a settled or regular tendency or practice, especially one that is hard to give up. Habit could be annoying.
In my case, one habit I had lived with until about ten years ago is nonchalant. I don't take things seriously and when the results come, I may begin to see that the failure was my cause. Many people have this habit too.
I take things too simple, not taking necessary action as at when due. This had caused me a lot of trouble so I had to learn my lessons the hard way.

Strange Personality Quirk

At one point, I became afraid of what I was going to lose because of my nonchalant behaviour.
In my university days, the power outage problem in our nation was quite unbelievable. The private company that was responsible for power distribution and the government were having some unsettled matters that are the supply of power.
My only means of pressing my clothes back then was the stove iron, a technology that was discovered due to the problem of power supply and inability to use the electric iron.
One morning when I had a seven o'clock lecture, after pressing my cloth, I forgot to put off the stove. I shot the door to my apartment and away to the lecture theatre I went to.
When I arrived in the evening, and wanted to cook my dinner, I discovered that the kerosene in the stove had dried up and at that time, there was nowhere I could get erosion to cook the noodles. I had to go to bed that night on an empty stomach. This is what nonchalant habits have caused me.

How I Considered A Change of Habit

That night, while I laid in my bed, I started to weigh my actions. If the stove had burned so high, causing havoc on the building including all my belongings, that would have caused me more. There had been other times when I fell victim to being nonchalant but this one made me rethink.

One thing I started to do was to take anything I wanted to do, a step after the other. With this, I figured out that I incurred less damages and losses.
Also, taking cognizance of everything around me became another priority for me. I have come to understand that the knowledge of my immediate environment is sacrosanct to achieving more and avoiding stories that touch the heart.

Are There Benefits and Loses?

Since then, I have been able to find out that there are times I need to frown at something that is not right. When something comes up and there is a need to speak against it, I don't have to keep quiet.

Also, my knowledge about things that didn't matter to me before now have increased.

One consequence I have gotten by not being nonchalant is that I see myself as a busy body. This is because most of the things I used to overlook have now become what I focus on.
In all, it is not advantageous to be a nonchalant person, and if one finds himself as a carefree person, he or she should begin to work it out before it turns to a habit.

Header image: Designed @canva.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now