Have Yourself a Masala Christmas

image.png

What warms my heart on Christmas Day is a hot cup of cinnamon malsala tea. I like to start with boiling two cinnamon sticks in a pot of water. The smell of cinnamon gets everyone into a festive mood and then when the cinnamon boils it is time to add the "masala".

The Hindi word "masala" may originate from Persan or Arabic. It basically just means spices and I so much need a cup of spicy tea.

I like to use Garam Masala in my tea. Garam masala usually contains black peppercorns, mace, cinnamon, cloves, black cardamom, nutmeg, and green cardamom. These spices give a delicious Caribbean kick to my cup of tea.

image.png

By Miansari66 - Own work, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=5982766

Now once the masala and cinnamon are boiling to a roar and the fragrance fills the room the next step is to add some Caribbean Christmas music. If you don't know any Caribbean Christmas music the fall back is Bob Marely, but as the tea is boiling anything with a steel ring to it will do whether it is steel drums or a steel guitar, you be jammin'.

I used Darjeeling Tea and I could lead you to a syndicated link to gain a fee on your purchase but I can let you buy your own tea. Just add it to the pot and let it boil for 2 or three minutes then your tea is ready.

I caught the leaves in a soup spoon and strained them into a tea cup. Just added a shot of milk and stirred it with the cinnamon stick. This makes a perfect Christmas afternoon treat and enough caffeine to make it through the rest of the Christmas day.

image.png

I hope you enjoy your day. I'm back to work now. There is no such thing as Christmas Monday in Korea. It's only a holiday in my heart. In reality I am swamped with work as we are remodeling our office and I'm going through all my old junk. I really need another cup of that holiday cinnamon tea.

image.png

Let's celebrate one more day

This tea was inspired by @galenkp's weekend-engagement prompt.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center