Week 144 Weekend-Engagement : I am passionate about social work

Since I was young I have had the attraction to do social work, to be a collaborator in activities within my community and at work.


imagen.png


But when we look at the concept of passion as a feeling that we cannot easily control, that can dominate the will and even disturb reasoning, we realize the intensity of this feeling.

Love is a passionate feeling and the passion to help others encompasses a number of qualities that one must have for that purpose, to be empathetic, compassionate, considerate, altruistic, supportive and of course to be loving.

I take advantage of the fact that I like to help others to work with associations, groups and as an independent volunteer, to give them what they need from my possibilities.


imagen.png

• Photo of my property in social activity of Yoga for visually impaired people.


Helping those in need makes me feel very good and I have had very satisfying experiences. I remember the landslide of December 1999 where there were torrential rains for days, in Caracas and Vargas State in Venezuela, which generated a catastrophe where many of the villages were practically destroyed, leaving a large number of missing and affected people.

Many of the people who lost their homes were placed in educational centers used as shelters. It was desperate to see how it was all happening, literally behind the mountain and not being able to do anything. However, one of my contributions was my participation as a volunteer within the institution where I worked within their programs and activities.

Another experience of that event was the organization of donations in a high school in the community, daily bags and bags of clothes, food and medicine arrived. It was my job, along with other colleagues, to classify the clothes by gender and size, and also to check that they were in good condition. Some clothes were torn, smelly and dusty, that caused me a strong allergy; my mother took me an antiallergic and a mask, I was resting for an hour and when I recovered I continued with my work.

I have no record of that time but I share with you other photos of my activities.


imagen.png

• Photo of my property in a meeting with the visually impaired for the preparations of the hike to the mountain.


My passion is my purpose.

One of the main problems at a general level is affectivity towards the most vulnerable people, apathy and indifference to their needs.


imagen.png

• Photo of my property in a meeting with the children of a children's home in the town of El Hatillo in the outskirts of Caracas.


After many years I managed to be clear that helping people with physical deficiencies, grandparents, abandoned children, low-income mothers, for their well-being would be my personal and professional purpose. That is why since 2017 I am dedicated to prepare myself as a Biodanza teacher with the purpose of specializing in the care of that population, also learn yoga exercises and to do recreational and leisure activities that motivate them to connect with life and the joy of living.

Passion in itself is not a purpose, but it became the way to achieve my life purpose.

imagen.png

• Photo of my property in a biodance session with a visually impaired friend.


Thank you for making it this far and taking the time to read my post, until the next installment.


• Banners, designed in Canva with the elements available in its free version.
• Photos from my personal archive
• Traducido con www.DeepL.com (versión libre)


imagen.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center