Memories and lessons along the Spartan Trail

Hello, Hive!

Remember the first time I took my officemates hiking? It was March 4 this year and exactly six months today, they are still going farther and better on the trails. I couldn’t be any prouder.

I’ve also previously shared with you two very important lessons I learned while spending two separate weekends with these people. They reminded me the importance of walking at our own pace, and how maps are lifesaver. Funny, isn’t it? That it took a group of newbies to hark back these world teachings into my brain. Haha.

Anyway, I’ve decided to share some more learnings from our recent weekend hikes here. Apart from having a personal log that I can return to when times get rough, some of you might find it also applicable in your hikes — or even life in general.

So here goes...

Third weekend: I am reminded that adventure can wait

Few weeks ago, I took my friends back to Banawa with the intention of having them complete the entire Pamutan Trail (most commonly known as Spartan Trail). As I've mentioned before, this trail has three sections: the stairway to heaven, the river crossing, and the final assault. Most of them have already reached the second stage during our previous hikes so I wanted them to complete their experience this time. Hence, this revenge climb.

Coming with me are @katiemeow , Leslie, Eggy, Dodong, and Mike (a first-timer in Spartan), as well as seasoned hikers Alton, ate Sherlyn, and Analyn (whom I haven't seen since our Mt. Apo climb).

We started the hike with the usual grind on the stairway to heaven section. I was actually surprised of not hearing are we there yet? from Eggy since he used to complain how far we were going last time. He was full of energy and stamina — the complete opposite of what I was feeling that day.

You see, I'm an occasional asthmatic. And of all the rare times it could attack, it chose this hike. But even when I was wheezing and not feeling well, I continued walking.

We reached Boss Kape but did not stay too long since we're all looking forward for the river crossing.


Those who were wearing hiking sandals were able to enjoy the water, but as for Eggy, Kim, Dodong and ate Sherlyn, it was a challenge to hop between rocks and avoid getting their shoes wet.



Meanwhile, my cough was getting worse at each step. I was always trailing behind the group and taking multiple rests. My concerned friends already suggested that we cut the hike short to be safe.

In the end, I conceded. I realized that adventure and the mountains can wait. There will always be a next time. Another day to try again. We traced back our way and took the nearest exit through the Buhisan Dam.

Fourth weekend: I am reminded that a "little" goes a looong way

Just last Saturday, I invited the same people on another hike in Spartan Trail. Leslie and Kim couldn't come but we have the roadrunners Chiarra and Bon this time. We also have @kev.incredible with us to join the fun!

The sun was high up when we started the hike and there was no wind. We climbed with stairway to heaven — skin glistening in sweat yet still smiling. Why not? It's Bon's first time hiking and as for me, I'm perfectly healthy this time.


Upon reaching Boss Kape, Eggy and I distributed our dog and cat food to the owner's pets. The animals are generally docile though some are slightly aggressive when it comes to food. I guess they have more than 10 dogs plus cats and chicken now. All unneutered and unspayed.


Looking at their innocent eyes, I am reminded once again that kindness and generosity should not only be given to humans but to all living creatures. These acts of love, though small to our eyes, is already a big thing for these animals.

After feeding, we continued hiking down the riverbed. We immediately noticed that many of the newly constructed dikes have already collapsed.

Soon, reached a mini pool surrounded by huge boulders and decided to take a dip. With the many structural changes being made on the river, it's lucky that old spots like this one can still be seen.

After an hour, we reached the Langgitan Falls where some of us took another bath and nature massage. In the old days, we wouldn't be spending too long on the trails, but as we age, we discover the beauty of being "in the now". And, truth is, these little moments are not so little at all.

We resumed the hike and finally reached a trail fork that led back to the mountain. A continuous ascent through hills and ridges await hikers in this final section of Spartan Trail.

There are also newly fallen trees that act like hurdles along the trails. In a way, it's fun because it feels like parkour in the jungle, but at the same time, it requires more effort and energy.

The view from the ridge, however exhausting, is worth it though. Here, you get to see the beauty of Cebu City's highlands (at least for now while Slater is still not finish with his "project"), plus you get to appreciate how far you've gone.

After two hours, we finally saw the paved road of Brgy. Pamutan which indicated that we're done with Spartan Trail. As always, there lot of memories made on this trail and lessons learned too.

Thank you for reading. Until next time! 😁


Maria is a hopeless romantic who travels in pages and places. She is an INFP who loves sunrises and moonlight nights and reading books in between. On weekdays, she works for a self-publishing company as a copywriter. On weekends, she lives for life as a poet or hiker. She hopes to share her love for words and the world with you here on HIVE.

If you like this content, don't forget to follow, upvote, and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want. Connect with her through PeakD, Tiktok, or Instagram. 🤍

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center