Rhythm And Soul!

I understand that we all have preferences as regards our choice of music and what we can call a good or bad music. What I see as a good or bad music may not be so for another person. It's all about different strokes for different folks.


A Music Is Good If

A good music for me is that which I can be in tune with, a music that makes me crave to listen to it as much as I crave for more bites of chocolate, lol.
It must be that which can evoke strong emotions in me arresting my soulthat I'll have no choice but to loose myself to its embrace. And I'll begin to sing or hum even if I don't understand the lyrics well. Next comes my body moving in unison with the rhythm as I sing away.

Again, the quality of the lyrics and composition are also points that make a music thick for me. If the lyrics are well written, meaningful and the melody catchy, then it's good for me.


Music is all about creativity, therefore a good music must have that creative touch to it. Original, well not in all cases, bringing in a combination of different styles, rhythms, instruments and sounds to make harmonious melody that will be pleasing to the ear and enjoyable.
Then the artistic skills, and emotion of the musician should be felt in the music, infact the musician should be in the music itself, if you understand what I mean.

I love more of country music plus Rhythm and Blues, some good Pop, not forgetting Jazz. Yanni is my Jazz icon.


The country classic icon - Jim Reeves.

This song Smooth Operator by Sade is my pick any day any time. It's a combination of Smooth jazz, Quiet storm, Sophisti - pop and Bossa nova, that's four genres in one music. No wonder it was a best seller and still evergreen.


I remember the first time I was served hot breakfast in the evening, this song, End Of The Road, by Boyz 11 Men, became my companion. I carried it on my head like gala, singing and crying me a river, lol.


Oh I won't end this without this masterpiece by Dolly Parton - Jolene


A Music Is Bad If....

If I listen to a music for the first time and nothing about it appeals to me, then it is a bad one. You might say that I made a hasty conclusion, well that's how it is. If it doesn't capture my innermost being me, evoking feelings in me as the listener, I tick it as bad.

I hear some music and I'm like what the heck, is this one music too? Sound is noisy, and grating, horrible to the ears. And the lyrics, shallow, meaningless, repetitive, all wack. Some are full of offensive, and abusive lyrics, promoting violence and other negative ideas. I can't deal with such songs.

No harmony in the music - the beats doesn't flow with what the lyrics. Everything about the music is so off beat, unstructured, and chaotic, a total waste of time and resources.

Remember I said music should be able to feed my soul, so if it's not doing so, then it's good as bad. I can't be drawn to such music.

Noisy or unstructured music: Some people find music that is very loud, chaotic, or unstructured to be unpleasant or bad.

These ones can sum up as a bad music



Finally, it's said that music is food for the soul. I'm sure whoever said this was actually talking about good music because I can't imagine my soul feeding on a poorly prepared (recorded) music, that would be harmful, I tell you. So I try as much as I can to guard my soul from eating bad music.
Serve me a dish of well prepared, appetizing and delicious music, and I'll relish every taste of it, and even ask for more, lol.

That's it for me.... Thank you for reading.

Still the #threadsaddict 😂

This is my response to Weekend Engagement Topics Wk 218

Author's Photos

All Music Are From YouTube

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center