The accomplishment that makes me feel proud.

I am glad to participate in this week challenge. I will like to write about the achievement that makes me feel proud of myself.

Moving to a new country can be very challenging but adventurous. In 2014, I got admission in Lady Doak College college Madurai, in India. I was excited and I started making preparations to travel. In less than a month I got all documents ready including visa and flight was booked on a Saturday 12th July, 2014 but unfortunately I missed the flight because I was not carrying the current yellow fever vaccine card and before I could get it the plane was already taxiing but my luggage had already left with the plane. It was depressing to miss my flight. It was rescheduled for 15th July, 2014. I had every document now and I arrived the airport 3hrs below my departure time. I waved my family members goodbye and was excited to leave home and explore another country.


image.png

Late hours on Wednesday I was already in the college and I was warmly welcomed by the international study center of the college. I was taken to my well arranged and furnished room in the international student hostel. I took proper night rest and the next day I started my registration.

I was the only foreign student in the Department of mathematics. The students were very excited to see and meet me. After the class hours they all came to me to ask me questions in their friendly mode. I struggled academically and health-wise in my first semester. I couldn’t cope at the beginning and I was depressed. I wrote the first test and my performance was poor, I cried bitterly. I approached a professor and told her my ordeal. The professors in the department advised I to change to another department if I can’t cope in Mathematics department but I refused. Then, remedial class was arranged for me to help me pick up. A resident student was also assigned to me to help me in the hostel.


image.png

My first internal examination was two months after I started attending classes and my performance was average. I continued to read, watch you tube videos on the topics I couldn’t understand and I was on the necks of my professors and friends to clear my doubts and help me


image.png

I kept on reading and the second internal examination my performance improved. At the end of the first semester, I was able to make 73% and it was a shock to everyone in the department. I could remember the head of department using me as an example to other students on how hardworking I was knowing how I struggled with so many Mathematical concept. I kept on working on myself and studying hard and my professors were impressed. During my studies I attended so many seminars, workshop and international conferences. I remembered bringing back trophies for department for Mathematics competition.


image.png

Overtime my grades improved and I became a treasure in the department.
During my graduation ceremony I was awarded the best international graduating student of the year. I can still remember the clapping and cheers that was in the auditorium when I was called on stage as the best international student.


image.png


image.png

I graduated with distinction and imprinted my name for good in the department of Mathematics in my college. I must say I graduated with my shoulders high.
This is one accomplishment I achieved that I am very proud of.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center