Weekend Engagement #179: My Homemade Cream Cheese

Most of my friends know i love cooking my own food and eating. So during pandemic, when everyone was bored, i explored the world of fermentation. The first fermented drink i made was water kefir, which i will dedicate another blog entirely for it soon. I then discovered yogurt, which in turn could be made as cream cheese.
Screenshot_20231112_120713.jpg

I've been making yogurt since pandemic days because the store bought yogurt is quite sweet for my liking. Once you already have yogurt, either homemade or store bought, you can now proceed in making cream cheese. All you need is:

. Clean cheese cloth
. Non metallic strainer

Strain the yogurt in the cheese cloth for 1 day while placing it on the fridge. When the consistency is already cheese-like, then you may transfer it in a jar. Note you may opt to drink the yellow liquid (whey) underneath the strainer by adding it to your fruit shake or simply drink it straight for some extra nutrients.

Here are some ideas on how i pair my cream cheese with other foods:

IMG_20231112_120538.jpg
IMG_20231112_120512.jpg
IMG_20211106_075713.jpg
IMG_20231112_121510.jpg

In line with @galenkp 's challenge this week, the three people i would invite to eat cream cheese with me are:

  1. Rachel Green
  2. Monica Geller
  3. Chandler Bing

I know these are not real people but only fiction characters but I'm such a huge fan of Friends. With the news of Mattew Perry's passing, the one who portrayed Chandler Bing, i recently re watched some of the series' episodes. They inspire me to become a better adult and taught me that no matter what, everything will be fine in the end.

Happy weekend everyone. Thank you for reading my blog.

Sending some love and light,

-JaneXOXO

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center