A Fantasy or Reality? James Bond Kidnapped Me in Phuket, Thailand | Weekend-Engagement Week 204

Which movies do you remember if you were in Phuket, Thailand?

Every time I go on a trip to different countries, I always have this fantasy of bumping into some celebrities or I have this kind of romantic love story you will always see in the movies.

There are two celebrities and movies I could think of while in Phuket, Thailand. First, Leonardo di Caprio because of The Beach movie where the location of the movie was on the island of Ko Phi Phi Le. Second, James Bond Agent 007, is a movie character from the 1974 James Bond movie The Man with the Golden Gun, played by Roger Moore. One of the scenes in the movie was located on the islands of Khao Phing Kan which locals playfully called the James Bond Island.

Screenshot (63).png

I met a Filipina traveler in Bangkok who happened to be a reader and follower of my travel blog. We became good friends. We got invited by a Thai girl to join her for a weekend trip. The original plan was only to stay 4 days in Phuket and we had to go back to Bangkok for some hostel duties.

th03crop.jpg

Photoshoot at Ko Phi Phi or Phi Phi islands

My friend and I already enjoyed our day tours to Phi Phi island and visited Maya Bay, the film location of Leonardo di Caprio's The Beach. One of our conversations is to meet someone the love of our lives while traveling. Yeah, what a big fantasy, eh?

After this tour, my friend and I got a day off from tours in Phuket. Unexpectedly, I met this tall and handsome French guy with blue eyes. Going out with him was wholesome we went on a motorbike tour. At night, we met again to meet my friends to go to a club, had fun with music and dancing.

That would be our last meeting with the French guy because he told me he was going to Phi Phi island for four days after our night out. The next morning my friend and I went for James Bond Island and Phang Nga Bay Tour. And we could go back to Bangkok to fulfill our hostel duties.

james bond island and phang nga bay tour - phuket itinerary 5 days.jpg

We went to the island tours and we really had fun. There was no mobile signal on my phone so I never minded people who could not reach me. My phone credit was finished and I planned to fill it once in Bangkok.

PA272782.JPG

20-metre (66 ft) tall islet called Ko Ta Pu

In my mind, I have already accepted the fact that the French guy and I would never have the chance to meet again. And I was like, nah, he doesn't find me attractive which is fine. Okay, it's time to say goodbye to my fantasy of meeting Leonardo di Caprio or James Bond in Phuket. Hahaha!

Here is a short clip of James Bond Island

After our James Bond Island tour, we got stuck in a police station for one hour. Another driver picked us up to bring us back home to our hotels.

It took us time to go home, it was evening already. We were hungry.

A Surprise

The French guy suddenly appeared. I was surprised because supposedly, he should be on Phi Phi island already. I was like, "What just happened?"

He spent only a day on Phi Phi island and decided to go back to Phuket town. He told me he was calling me all day and sending me messages. I never checked my phone the whole day because there was no reception during the tour. I checked my phone and eventually received all notifications from missed calls and messages.

I told him that my friend and I were preparing our bags for going back to Bangkok. I was like, so sweet of him to see me before we say goodbye for the last time. He wanted us to talk.

He made a Proposal

My friend was shocked, too. We were quick to our hotel room for a shower and a little chit-chat about what just happened. We decided to go down for dinner while the French guy waited for us downstairs. My friend gave way to having us alone time as she went to dinner near the hotel.

The French guy and I went on a motorbike ride and found a good place to have dinner and talk about us. US? REALLY? SERIOUSLY?

We talked many things. What were my travel plans by the end of the year? Where was I going? What was my plan in Bangkok the next day? Which country is next after Bangkok?

That was when he proposed to me to extend my stay in Phuket to get to know me better. I was shocked. Are you serious? He told me to pay for my ticket back to Bangkok before I went to a different country.

I got kidnapped by James Bond so I stayed longer

The play of words on social media, that is being kidnapped by James Bond so I had the reason to stay longer in Phuket. The James Bond persona was very intriguing to my friends as I never revealed who this James Bond I was referring to.

No photos of the French guy on social media. I kept it low-key and I was also thinking that like James Bond, I was expecting that we would never have a long-lasting relationship. I was like enjoying the moment while it could last, a quick love affair in Phuket.

If you could go on a date with James Bond, Donald Trump, Beyonce or Mother Teresa, who would you choose and why?

Of course, I could go on a date with James Bond any time of the day. I would be thrilled to have adventures with him in Phuket, diving to the clear seas, hopping on a motorbike with him, and driving like the fast and the furious. All these fantasies of dating James Bond like in the movies would be awesome.

Since James Bond was played by different actors. Oh well, I could have my own version of James Bond which is the French guy who turns out to be my husband. I may not be as pretty as the Bond girls in the movies, but hey, I AM A CERTIFIED BOND GIRL since 2018! Hahaha!

Joining this Weekend-Engagement topics: WEEK 204 hosted by @galenkp

Thank you for this week's prompt as I have the chance to reminisce my Phuket Adventure with my own version of James Bond.

So, what's your biggest fantasy of dating James Bond?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now