Sundate with my Mom

Although we have been busy because of work duties, we always find time to have a bonding moment together with my mom, especially on weekends. So, last Sunday, my mom and I had a brief but fun Sunday date at Parkmall. We took a public jeepney ride and arrived there safely at mid-afternoon.

We went into the mall, took a stroll, and enjoyed the AC. It was just hot outside, and it was a convenient path to our first spot.

When we exited the mall, I couldn't help but reminisce my experience at the Bai Hotel last year. The structure of the hotel is just captivating. But anyway, we took a few walks and reached our main event.

I told my mom about Yang Hero ever since I tried it for the first time with my best friend at a different branch. Finally, she had her first experience at the restaurant with me, hehe.


Since my mom didn't have any idea how it works when ordering the Malatang, I guided her and let her pick the ingredients. She was just like me during my first time too.

We loved the ambience, colors, and design of the place. Although it is not as big as their other branch in IT Park, Cebu, it's still pretty decent.

My mom loved the colorful lanterns and of course, I couldn't miss taking pictures of her.

When the food arrived, my mom was truly amazed at the size of the bowl. Also, she wondered if we could take the chopsticks home or buy them, but one of the servers said it's not possible due to inventory. I was just amused, sitting there and listening to their conversation.

After our delicious meal, we decided to grab some drinks here. I ordered a matcha latte, while for my mom, I'm not entirely sure what she got. During the conversation with one of the servers about her order, she casually mentioned, "as long as it's caramel" when they suggested a drink for her. Unfortunately, there seemed to be a miscommunication, and her drink turned out to be too strong and bitter for her liking—I tasted it and it was indeed quite overpowering. I wasn't a fan of mine either, but we laughed about it, even though it was a bit of a waste of money.

Then, we headed to the SM Supermarkets to buy a little grocery.

Surprisingly, we found this green salad which only cost 99 pesos, so we had to grab it. I don't know why we picked it up, but perhaps one of the reasons is because of the psychological pricing, haha. We had just eaten a while ago and impulsively thought that we needed it for a snack.

I just followed my mom around and adding items to the basket.

One thing my mom can't miss during grocery shopping is chocolates. Every time we shop for groceries, there's always something sweet she'll add. Like mother, like daughter, I guess. We both have a sweet tooth.

This was everything we had for our little grocery. Well, there were mostly food items in there, but what can I say? It's a necessity and our snack stock at home was almost out.

After that, we headed to our last spot, Chowking. My mom had seen from a Facebook post that they had a promo only for that day- a buy 2 get 1 free small-sized halo-halo! I wasn't aware of the promo but luckily, my mom, who's always updated on restaurant promos or discounts, knew about it. So, we availed that promo and bought a platter of their buchi for takeout. And after that, we safely returned home, feeling happy, even though it only took us 2 or 3 hours outside.

Time flies by so fast that you may not notice how slowly you only have small moments to share with your loved ones, especially with your moms. So, if you're reading this, consider it a sign to have a sundate with your mom. Go on a weekend food trip, take a stroll, enjoy a fun shopping together, or just simply check on your mom every now and then. It may be a good way to reconcile with your mom if you're not on good terms. You never know unless you try. 😄


Thank you for stopping by here. I hope you have a lovely weekend, sweeties!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now