Having Dogs Is A Lifestyle

It's been a long time since @galenkp's weekend engagement had such an easy topic for me among the topics. Anyone who has followed me a little bit will not be surprised by the choice I made. Dogs or cats, what do you choose?

2018-09-28 14-56-00 - 0004.jpg

I Love Dogs And Cats

Now I have to say that as an animal lover, I also think cats are absolutely amazing animals. Their graceful movements, quirky characters, and intense looks can say so much without words. Cats are beautiful and photogenic animals. But for me, there has never been any doubt about which animal I want in my home. That has always been a dog since I was a child. As a child, I didn't have a dog, but I nagged my parents to let me have a dog. But why? I never asked myself why I wanted a dog. It was just a fact. When I didn't have a pet yet and was thinking about getting one, there was not even a moment of doubt. Did it cross my mind to have a cat? Definitely! But for many reasons, I choose a dog over a cat. I’m just more of a dog person than a cat person. For me, it has everything to do with the daily interactions, the company, and the bond I build with my dog. I feel like dogs bring something to the table that cats don’t. And that makes all the difference for me.

The Emotional Bonding With A Dog

The bond you build with a dog is indescribable, but that deep feeling is for me the most important and special aspect of having a dog. In my opinion, you have to ‘work’ a bit more with a cat to get your cat’s attention, whereas a dog always focuses on you. Dogs are unconditionally loyal and naturally focused on their owner. They look at you, listen to you and many dogs have a natural will to please. They love nothing more than to make you happy. The natural character of almost every dog ​​creates a kind of emotional bond that, in my opinion, is less likely to be created with cats. Don't get me wrong, you can certainly build a nice bond with cats, but a cat will always work more independently and will become less attached to people than a dog. At least that's my idea.

2018-04-03 15-28-24 - 0028.jpg

With a dog, you are also much more intensively involved because of the dog's ability to learn. And the training you do with a dog is a good example of that bond. By working together intensively a lot, you get to know your dog inside and out. When we still had four dogs, I could even hear which dog was moving without looking. If all four of them barked, I could tell exactly from the bark which dog had started, what the reason was, and whether all four dogs thought there was "something". For example, we had a dog with Lana who often barked because a car was driving past more slowly than normal. Rowan and Myla didn't think this was a problem as long as the car didn't stop there, but they still started barking along with Lana for the fun of it. Lex didn't think it was a problem at all, and he never barked along in such situations either. But if Lex barked once, I knew for sure that I had to go and check, because then something was wrong. If Rowan started barking, it was also necessary to check. And if Myla started barking, it was an emergency. She only barked first if, for example, someone was already inside, OR if Lex and Rowan threatened to get into a fight. By spending so much time intensively with the dogs, you get to know them so well. This is of course also the other way around. A dog learns your habits, senses your mood, and reacts to it. I think that learning ability and involvement are really fantastic. I certainly believe that cats can learn too, but the difference in character is big here. Cats are more independent, they have their own agenda. It is not for nothing that they say: “Dogs have owners, cats have staff.”

The Value Of Daily Routine And Excercise

Another important reason for me why I will choose a dog as long as I can is that without a dog I would not even go outside every day, and certainly not go for a walk. That may sound a bit strange, but it's true. We live in a remote area, I have no job, few social contacts, and therefore little reason to go out every day. Having a dog forces me to go outside every day, which is extremely important for my physical and mental health. I am prone to gloom and depression, and I know that fresh air and walking are very effective against that. I admit that having four dogs may have been a bit excessive to meet this need, although it was super fun! Without a dog, things would definitely go wrong, after the loss of Lex, Rowan, Lana & Myla we now only have Skipper. And fortunately, he also makes sure that I stay active on his own. He will be 6 next month and his need for exercise and taking it out several times a day ensures that I get fresh air and exercise every day. This certainly helps me to keep gloom and depression at bay. Although it sometimes sounds very tempting that you don't have to take a cat out, and therefore don't have to walk through the pouring rain, I know that for me, it is better to go out into the rain with the dog instead of curling up on the couch with the cat.

0CF_1371.jpg

In addition, in my opinion, dogs are more sociable animals, and they are always ready for action. Skipper doesn't care whether I decide to go for a long walk or just hang up the washing, he happily walks along with me. He is always ready to join in, even with the simplest tasks. It's not that he follows me around all day long with everything I do, but when I invite him to help, he is there. That gives a feeling of company and involvement that I would miss with cats. A cat would probably lie quietly on a windowsill somewhere and observe me but without the same urge to actively participate in daily life.

Dogs Are Always Involved

Dogs radiate energy, character, and emotion in almost every situation. Skipper can be standing in the middle of a field, his ears in the wind, with an intense look in his eyes, but he is still paying attention to me. The active nature of dogs means that they are always involved in what I am doing. That constant presence is something I really appreciate. With cats it is different; they are more independent and often decide for themselves when they want attention. That independence is certainly charming, but for me, the bond with a dog feels deeper and more involved.

FEH_3623-Enhanced-NR.jpg

Staying Active With A Dog

As I said, having a dog forces you to keep moving every day, which helps me to stay mentally and physically healthy. But the daily walks, playing, and training also give structure to my day. Not entirely unimportant to me. But apart from that, the activity outside with Skipper also helps to stimulate my creativity. When I go out with him I often see moments to photograph. Because of him, I go to places where I would not go without a dog. And that also provides new inspiration.

2018-10-15 12-29-44 - 0012.jpg

Having A Dog Is A Lifestyle

Having one or more dogs is not only good for the company, but it certainly also helps to maintain a healthier, more active lifestyle. I would experience that less quickly with a cat, precisely because cats are much more independent and do not need daily walks. Although I certainly think cats are great animals, I always choose a dog in my own life. Having a dog is more than just having a pet. Having a dog is a lifestyle. It is also a mutual relationship of trust and care that, for me, keeps the balance in my life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center