Let's talk about unconditional love | WEEK #170

1000013650.png

When I was still a teenager I loved to read romance books, because I found in them that love that I longed for, and that I didn't find in people close to me. And I'm talking about romantic love or brotherly/friendly love.

I wanted a person who would love me and show it, a person with whom I could be myself without feeling ashamed or afraid to show it. I wanted not only a good boyfriend, but also best friends.

I wanted unconditional love, that is, people who would love me no matter who I am, what I have or don't have, who would accept me just the way I am, with my preferences, who would be there for me in my best and worst moments, even when I made a big mistake.

Separador Albani.png

And when I talk about unconditional love, I don't mean putting up with toxic behaviors or attitudes. Your boyfriend hitting you or being unfaithful and you forgiving him is not unconditional love. Just to clarify.

Separador Albani.png

When I entered college I had hoped to find those people there, but I did not. It wasn't there that I found them, because I did, folks. I did find those people, even though I thought I would die alone (a bit dramatic of me, I know)๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

1000009166.jpg

My current boyfriend-and my first-I met him thanks to a mutual friend (who is no longer my friend, so she is not important in this story). I swear he's everything I've ever dreamed of. Not only is he my boyfriend, he's also my best friend and the trust we have for each other is abysmal. We have fun together, we love each other, we support each other in the best and worst of times. We are our own engine because we push each other when we feel like we can't take it anymore and feel no shame in being ourselves. This love is unconditional.

Separador Albani.png

However, even though you could say that I already found everything I wanted in it there was still something missing: my best friends. Believe me I tried, I was always willing to meet new people but I just didn't connect enough with them.

1000013336.jpg

The amazing thing is that I found those friends here at Hive, and from having none, I now have many. I am very happy to have met them.

We are all very different, not only in personality but also in age, but we connect in a way I never imagined. Most of them are far away but there is not a day that goes by where they are not present in my life or I am not present in theirs. I feel lucky to call them "friends". I hope one day we will all be in the same room or physical space.

The love between me and my friends is also unconditional โค๏ธ

On Hive I have met amazing people, seriously. On this platform I feel very free, because I share my passions without fear or shame and I see others sharing their passions which in turn inspire me. In the creative world we can meet very cool people.

I came to the conclusion that the best human relationships should not be forced, they flow without pressure. The best people always come into our lives without warning or effort.

Separador Albani.png

Credits
The photos are my property
Visual identity by @pentaghast

BANNER HIVE albani.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center