WE #104 Two songs, two stories to tell

Just like the movies, we all have a musical theme to evoke that moment in life in which we were marked, the simple fact of listening to that song makes us go back to evoke that happy or sad story that we once lived, selecting only two songs was difficult, I must admit, but I made an effort and I did it.

image.png

The story behind the first song chosen goes back to the year 2005, in that year my mother's mortal remains had to be moved to another cemetery in the state of Lara, Venezuela, because the cemetery where she was buried would be remodeled, since the regional government would build a passenger terminal next to this cemetery, needing to demolish its perimeter fence and as my mother's grave was very close to this wall, the mayor's office asked for its transfer.

Because of this, again a tombstone had to be made to identify the place where my mother's remains would rest, I was asked to write the epitaph, I took advantage of the privilege they gave me to leave in that writing the pain I felt at the physical absence of my mother, however, I could not find the right words to express my feelings, just the day of the delivery of the writing, while I was going on public transport to my work, I heard on the radio playing the song that was the theme song of the movie Tarzan.

Tears immediately began to flow from my eyes, as soon as I heard the lyrics of the song, it was as if my mother was telling me that she would never leave me, that we would always be united by a bond that would never be broken, so I took as inspiration the main idea of this song to write her epitaph, therefore, my first song is, in my heart you will live by Phil Collins.

The second song speaks of defeat, of the loss that is suffered when an ideal is not achieved and the expectations are not fulfilled, making us feel defeated before the circumstances we have experienced.

The song I am referring to is Don Quixote, it belongs to Joan Manuel Serrat. I used this song for a while to do catharsis, to drain the pain for the defeat I suffered, after being rejected and fired from the position of director, which I held for two years in an educational institution, I felt I did not deserve it, that they had all been ungrateful, I listened to this song over and over again, in his lyrics clearly expressed my feelings, as I am writing this LOL, as my ego felt so resentful in those moments, but it was an experience that cost assimilate in those moments I had taken it as personal.

Now when I listen to it, I sing it loudly because I no longer perceive that experience as a loss, but rather as a life learning experience.

In closing, I congratulate the @theweekend community on its second anniversary, I hope it continues to grow.

@devania (5).png

Imagen de la portada pertenece Mick Haupt on unsplash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center