Weekend engagement 211: My terrible verbal ability

I have always admired the work of those who make calls to offer courses or promotions since it is impossible for me to imagine enduring that type of constant interaction with strangers. It would be a very frustrating experience for me, especially considering my difficulties with speech, my verbal fluency is not exactly my strong suit so it seems unlikely that I could successfully perform in that type of work.

Curiously, last year I was in the training process for a customer service position, however, my expectations did not match the reality of the position, instead of receiving and guiding customers with their questions about the company's services. , the training focused on sales calls focused on convincing potential clients to purchase their services.

I found this dynamic completely incompatible with my skills, the insistence and verbal fluency necessary to thoroughly explain the offers before the call ended were beyond my capabilities. In the final test, I found myself unable to adapt to this style of work, which led me to abandon training and searching for that type of job.

I am aware that verbal communication is not my strong point, I do not have the gift of gab, my speaking pace is rushed and prone to errors, imagining someone with my limitations trying to sell something over the phone is challenging to say the least.

Despite my difficulties in the conversational area, I consider myself a person with many skills. My brief time in customer service taught me the importance of self-knowledge and searching for job opportunities that fit my skills.

¡Thank you for reading!

¡Until next time!

Text separator created in canva

All the photographs shown are my property

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center