Highschool lifestyle

This prompt took me back to my high school days because I have many memories attached to them.

For my lifestyle categories during those days, I had the following characteristics:

  • I wasn't studious, but I was intelligent:

Although things have changed because I have siblings currently in high the same school, our results used to come out in positions—first, second, third, fourth, and so on to the last person in the class. Now, the school uses credit ratings.
Back then, I always came out in fourth or fifth position, which was seen as impressive. Because I didn't talk much in class, especially when answering or asking questions during lectures, it surprised the whole class and the teachers how I kept achieving that position. Did I even know how I managed to achieve that position in class? Nope, I was just doing my thing—attending classes and paying attention to all the questions and answers.

As I mentioned earlier, I wasn't fond of talking in class because I was shy about my English. It's not that it was very bad, I just didn't like the situation where people would start finding errors in my English speaking. Despite my low-key lifestyle, I topped as the best student in subjects like economics. I remember when the teacher came looking for me because he wanted to know the boy who was always outstanding in his subject in every examination. Oh, good old days.

  • I wasn't into sports:

I hated to see my time being wasted. I saw sporting activities as time-consuming because whenever they started, we would always close very late. I was always eager to go home once we closed from school. But we were forced to engage in sports during inter-house-sport activities, where all students were grouped into various sport houses (with different color symbols). During those days, I tried as much as possible to stick around and find a way to sneak out halfway through. I wasn't social, and I couldn't see myself learning to be social during that period.

  • I was rugged but hidden:

I had a very clean, innocent look, so people didn't associate me with trouble. But I used to engage in many things that the school didn't support. First, I used to pass through the bush road whenever I was late for school to avoid being flogged by seniors and teachers catching latecomers at the main gate. Many times, some seniors would be posted to the bush gate to catch those of us passing through the path, and we used to engage them in running. I was never caught.

Another one was mangoes. We had mango trees in the school, and there was a rule never to pluck them. The mangoes were only for teachers. Although we were allowed to pick them when they fell, we were never allowed to pluck them. I used to violate that rule and lead my few friends on mango heists. It used to be fun then.

Thank you!


This is my response to one of the topics in Weekend-engagement topics [215]

I own the photos used

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now