Spending the Weekend with My Mother

Hello, Hiver friends!

My mother finally agreed to come see us in the city where my family lives after I tried for a few years to persuade her to do so. It was quite difficult to ask her to come visit because she works as a daycare teacher and also a social worker in our local government unit back in the province. I also have a sister who has special needs, so leaving the house for a few days or even a week is not an option for her.

My brother moved back to our hometown with his own family after my father passed away two years ago, and since they live close to my mom's house, I asked him if he could watch over and take care of my sister while my mom was on vacation. He agreed, so we made plans for everything—from purchasing a bus ticket to arranging their schedule once they arrived. And since it was their first time, I want to make the most of it.
DSCF5288.JPG

They left the province on Friday afternoon, and it was a 10-hour bus ride. I'm glad my youngest sister and my niece tag along so she won't get bored of the long trip. They arrived at dawn on Saturday, and my husband picked them up at the bus terminal.

I welcomed them with a tight hug, as I was feeling emotional when I saw them getting inside the house, imagining that my late father was also with them because he never got the chance to set foot inside our house. The breakfast was ready when they arrived, and they will just freshen up a bit and continue the rest in the car because we have a full day ahead of us.

Getting ready before we hit the road.

I booked two rooms on AirBnb so that when we traveled to Tagaytay, we would have a closer place to stay. We're going to popular tourist spots in the area. My mom hasn't been there, that is why it's on my list of places to show them.

When we got to Tagaytay, the visibility was almost zero due to fog.

When we arrived at lunchtime, we were taken aback by how cloudy it was. Because of the heavy fog, we were unable to visit tourist attractions that offered a panoramic view of the Taal volcano, so I changed our plans and looked for other things to do with the rest of the afternoon.

The room we booked has a balcony that overlooks the volcano, but since it was cloudy, the volcano cannot be seen, but my mom still enjoys the view and the fresh, cold air. The volcano was hiding, but she doesn't mind.

We got a little glimpse of the volcano for a few minutes, but it was still pretty cloudy.

Me, 4th child, 5th child and our Mother.

Our mini-reunion on the balcony, and it was the first time we got reunited with my other sister since my father passed away.

It was almost time for dinner, so we decided to check out the nearby amusement park after letting my mother and the girls rest in their own rooms for more than an hour because they were tired from the long drive.

When we came out, the sky cleared up a bit, and the kids couldn't wait to see the amusement park, so we headed there first before trying to find place to eat dinner.

My mom with her three grandchildren.

It was unexpected to see amusement park less packed, especially on weekends, but since it was cloudy, it started to pour. The weather forced the closure of most of the major outdoor rides, so most visitors had already left, and some had taken cover in the restaurant next to the entrance to stay dry.

IMG_20230729_173851.jpg

DSCF5254.JPG

We have been here previously, and because of how crowded it gets on weekends and holidays, it is nearly impossible to take pictures without being photobombed. However, due of the weather, we had the place to ourselves.

IMG_20230729_173424.jpg

We already bought tickets before they announced the closure of most of the attractions, and they converted out tickets for those attractions that have roofs, such as the carousel and the train ride.

Even in the rainy weather, the kids are adamant about riding. Kids were waiting in line for a long time to board the train because most tickets could be converted for those two rides only. It was okay to wait not until the rain started to pour in.

It was fine, until...

10 minutes later.

That's where we decided to give up the ride tickets and look for shelter. We end up near the covered area, where food stalls and souvenir shops are located. And as my mom loves printed souvenir shirts, check souvenir shops first before checking the food kiosk.

We head to the food kiosk to find something to eat after she picks up a bundle of clothes that she will give away when she gets home. The adults are seeking a hearty supper, while the children chose some fried finger food. At this hour, restaurants were still crowded with patrons who preferred not to get wet from the rain.

We had planned to dine in and have a nice, complete meal, so we weren't prepared for being stuffed with corndogs and other street food. Nevertheless, as we had already sated our appetite, we walked to our booked rooms in order to finally get some rest.

We went to our own rooms with smiles on our faces and hearts full. As a daughter, you can never match the nice feeling of making your parents happy. My mother immediately posted pictures of our family in the group chat.

Her vacation lasted for two weeks, so we have a few places on the list that we visited, and I hope you came along too!

This trip took place a few months ago, and it has been sitting in my drafts since then.😄

Thank you for reading!

❤️❤️❤️
general.gif
All photos are my own, unless stated otherwise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center