From Blackout - To Beach - To Dancing in the Rain! | Weekend Experience.

Last weekend was full of a dramatic weather twist that brought us pure bliss. Here is why. 🤗

IMG_20221018_195617.png

Early last week, we received an advisory that Sunday, October 16 would be a whole day of Power Interruption starting 8 am to 5 pm. There were no less than nine municipalities that are affected by this blackout including our town. An inconvenience like this is not new to us for we often have power interruptions due to Electric Source's upgrading and fixing. So a whole day without Power Electricity is easy peasy 😏, my only concern is the kids and the very hot weather.


The Blackout

The Power Interruption took effect at exactly 8:00 am. Oh, Cebeco II (Cebu II Electric Cooperative Incorporation) was on time in cutting the power this time! Usually they cut the power supply earlier than their given schedule.

IMG_20221018_190542.jpg

Screenshot taken from CebecoII Facebook Page.

Good thing we live in the province so there is so much to do outside our homes like gardening, gathering firewood or chitchatting with the family, or even a picnic while there is no electricity, but the weather was so hot, it's like an oven out there. Moreover, this time is different, when my baby was born, there was NO such day that we don't use the Electric fan and the ceiling fan, especially now that she is a toddler who keeps moving around the house, She easily gets covered with her sweats! Not to add, she couldn't fall asleep without the wind coming from the electric fan.

So we planned to go outdoors and bring the kids (my nephew and niece) to the beach so they could have a dip and cool their bodies for the weather was scorching hot. I excitedly suggested a public beach I know to go to. We need a beach that requires no entrance fee but yet secluded because for sure people are flocking to the beach today to relax and enjoy. There is one beach on my mind that meets the criteria that we are looking for: free, secluded, and child-friendly - the Nailon Public Beach.

IMG_20221017_153903.jpg


Nailon Public Beach

We went straight to Nailon Public Beach. This public beach of Nailon remained secluded for a long time. How many times I went to the place, I always see only 2-3 groups of people enjoying the beach. I wonder why because the beach is just 10 minutes away from the heart of the town and its access to any type of vehicle. Maybe because the beach is covered with lush trees? No one would know actually that behind those lush trees is the quiet and lonely beach of Nailon.

IMG_20221017_153835.jpg

Well, it's a good thing, the kids will surely enjoy their time on the beach running and playing as if they own the whole beach! Amazing right? However, as we were getting closer, I already heard noises and laughter coming from the beach - a noise of a crowd! I was surprised and hurriedly check if there were people.

IMG_20221017_154309.jpg

IMG_20221017_154851.jpg

To my surprise, there were so many people on the beach! From couples to families and groups of friends. There were groups of people occupying each shade of the tree making the seashore almost full. Once I thought a lonely and quiet beach is full of life. (Was it because of the blackout? or many have discovered the beach too?) We couldn't back out because the kids were jumping with excitement already (you know kids, they get hyped when they see a beach).

IMG_20221017_153729.jpg

The sad view-garbage waste littering everywhere.

IMG_20221017_154708.jpg

The floating cottage.

My sister searched for a place for us to sit, and my husband hurriedly bring the kids to the beach while I walk around and explore the beach. I roamed around to see the developments of the beach and checked what have I missed. Well, the whole landscape is still the same except for the floating cottage, the crowd, and the garbage waste that the beachgoer left. I don't know if should I feel happy because of the beach lively crowd but I feel sad because of the garbage spreading everywhere. I miss how quiet and serene this beach was before, this has been the place I used to sit If I feel overwhelmed and stressed about my life before (emo days😅).

IMG_20221017_154804.jpg

It started to rain at this time, I don't know if you can see it on the picture, but look at the water.

Just in time, I enjoy walking on the seashore, and suddenly I felt large droplets on my skin. How fast the happy bright sky turned to sadness as it slowly dropped its tears to the ground. I hurriedly went to our area, packed our things, and called my husband to come back to the seashore as the rain has started falling heavily. We couldn't get wet because we didn't bring clothes for us to change into! We only brought clothes for the kids, and aside from that, we planned to go to malls to purchase some groceries after the kids are satisfied swimming.

Seemed like we were in a Marathon at that time, we ran as fast as we could to avoid getting soaked by the rain. The 3 minutes going down to the beach became 15 seconds going back to our jeepney! That was so fast!


Dancing under the rain.

The kids complained and my one-year-old baby started crying because she wanted to go back and swim.
"Beach Mama, Beach Mama, Go Beach!", she cried.
The next thing that happened was the kids dancing in the rain and running on the streets. The rain was still pouring hard which made the kids enjoy bathing even more. Looking at them reminds me of my childhood days. I was once the happiest too every time it rained.

IMG_20221017_155031.jpg

IMG_20221017_155135.jpg

The kids had a great time, they were jumping, running, and laughing. Since they got some dirt from the street we brought them to the port to clean themselves. The port was deep and the water is cold because of the rain.

IMG20221016142243.jpg

I could see in the kid's eyes that they were so happy and were having their best weekend. So with all those dramatic turns of the weather, we ended up enjoying the circumstances.

Takeaway:
LIFE IS LIKE THE WEATHER, YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU GET, SO BETTER ENJOY THE MOMENT.😊

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center