My Crypto Adventures, Part 2: Becoming a Crypto Millionaire.

Giving up on Mt. Gox.

After I lost 104 Bitcoins in the Mt. Gox disaster, I followed the instructions of the Japanese lawyers dealing with the bankruptcy: I gave them my email address and my mailing address, and I opened an account on the crypto exchange where some of my Bitcoins would be transferred if they could find any.

As nothing happened for several years, I became convinced I would not get anything back. I made my peace with it.

2016: New Investments in Cryptos.

In 2014, I started following a financial newsletter from the Palm Beach Research Group to help me with my stock market investments. I have never been really good in this area.

In October 2016, one of the writers of Palm Beach, Teeka Tiwari, started to recommend some crypto assets: Steem, Antshares, and DASH.

I bought 10,000 Antshares at US$0.07 each, spending only $700. Later, Antshares changed its name and became NEO, and its price went up to US$120, which is more than 1,700 times what I have paid for my 10,000 Antshares.

I don't remember how many DASHs I bought, but what I was mostly interested in was Steem.

I had tried to blog on another platform; but it was not easy for me to write, so it did not last long. I thought that blogging on Steemit, where you expect to get some cryptos from your posts would incite me to post regularly.

Between November 2016 and March 2017, I bought more than 120,000 Steems, spending around CAD$22,000.

Sometime in 2017, I sold some cryptos to get back all the money I had spent.

2018: Buying an Apartment with Help from Cryptos.

At the beginning of 2018, I sold some of my 10,000 NEO and got more than CAD$100,000. It has helped us to buy a nice apartment where we are now living: my Crypto-Condo.

Over the years, I bought different cryptos, following the recommendations of Teek Tiwary. Some went nowhere, but some were quite successful, for example BNB, originally called Binance Coin.

2021: Selling some of my Crypto Assets.

In 2021, as the total of my crypto assets was greater than CAD$1.5 million, I converted the equivalent of CAD$500,000 of cryptos to Bitcoins. I gave half of these Bitcoins to my 4 children and 5 grandchildren.

And I got around CAD$250,000 for myself.

Continue to Part 3


-- Vincent Celier

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center