My Crypto Adventures, Part 3: The Return of Mt. Gox.

2020: Welcoming Hive and leaving Steemit

In 2020, when the Hive blockchain was created from a fork of the Steem blockchain, I immediately started to blog on Hive. For less than two months, I posted on both blockchains, then I stopped posting on Steemit.

At the end of the year, I powered down all my Steem Powers and sold all my Steems. With the result, I bought Hives and powered them up. As the prices of Steem and Hive were almost the same, I doubled my Hive Powers (from 175K to 350K).

Mt. Gox Ten Years Later

In 2017, my wife sold her house in Burnaby and we moved to a rental apartment. Then, in 2018, as I said before, I bought my Crypto-Condo.

At the same time, I stopped working for Adacore, the company I worked for. I was 60 years old, so it was time to do something else.

For several years, the new owners of the house in Burnaby received mail for us, mostly for me. They would send an email to my wife and I would go to the house and collect the mail. This happened until the end of 2020.

Suddenly, in 2023, they sent us a new email indicating that they had received a large envelope, addressed to me, from Japan. They told us that they were ready to toss it into the garbage can, but as it was coming from Japan, they thought it could be important.

You bet it was important!



The letter from Japan had been sent by the lawyers taking care of the bankruptcy of Mt. Gox.

They had tried to contact me through my Adacore email, but I was no longer able to use it. Sending this letter to the address I had registered was he last attempt to contact me.

Because both the registered email and address had changed, it took men more than a month to change them and be recognized as a legitimate user of Mt. Gox.

Finally, I was told that I would get a little more than 4 Bitcoins. And in 2024, I effectively received the 4 Bitcoins in my Kraken account.

As I said before, I had given up on Mt. Gox, so I was both surprised and happy to get something 10 years after the bankruptcy.


-- Vincent Celier

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center