My New Vatican-Issued Passport!

What's up plebs?!

Check out my new passport, issued by the Vatican:

1000004531.jpg

Nah, just kidding. It's just a recent addition I got for the stack that comes in a nifty red hard paper case:

1000004532.jpg

A commemorative 500 lire coin from the Vatican, 11 g of silver with a 0.835 purity.

I paid 15$, a bit more than I would like to, but these days I am trying to add some more fancy pieces in my collection. This one had the original casing and all so I went for it. On eBay it goes for 18-20 $ last time I checked, so I guess I did somewhat good if I ever decide to sell.

Let's see some close ups

1000004534.jpg

1000004533.jpg

1000004535.jpg

The piece commemorates the "Second 1978 Sede Vacante", whatever the fuck that is.

Wait, let me google it

Sede vacante (lit. 'with the chair [being] vacant' in Latin)[a] refers, in the Canon Law of the Catholic Church, to the state during which a diocese or archdiocese is without a prelate installed in office, with the prelate's office being the cathedral (some are also used as a place of residence if the prelate lives within the cathedral compound). The term is used frequently in reference to papal vacancies occurring upon the Pope's death or resignation. source

So yeah, religious bs.. as you'd expect from a Vatican coin lol.

Honestly I feel really meh about this coin, only reason I got it is because it was (?) somewhat cheap and different from the usual junk silver I get.

The casing is really cool though 😄

1000004536.jpg

Ok, time to stash this baby back in the vault 😄

Stack on plebs!







Fun Numismatics Posts
Enjoyed the post? Here is some more fun silver/numismatics themed content I have written in the past that you may enjoy:

And don't forget to join me in the silver gold stackers discord where I hang around! We are a fun bunch, I promise! Just click here!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center