Saturday Savers Club | Week 26 | Saturday 29 June 2024 | Bathroom Bathos


IMG_1727.webp

(Source)

Weekly Savings Round-Up

I had a nice little tax refund this week as well as the tiny monthly pension I get from a job I had for three months thirty years ago (I still have fond memories of it, too, not something I can say about every job I've had). Nice to put them to good use with HIVE sitting at .17 GBP 😁.

My monthly cashbacks and interest arrived this morning, too late for yesterday's purchases but in the kitty for HPUD on Monday 1 July 2024. I like to support HPUD each month and encourage others to build their accounts. When you read about Ethereum as

that "giant, blood-sucking vampire squid" ...

carefully establishing in web 3.0 the renters that have been fleecing us for years in the legacy economy, you come to a new appreciation of Hive.

Sorin sums it up in the comments:

There is a philosophical split that cleaves the blockchain world in very unequal parts.

On the 99% side, it's a fiercely individualistic view of the world where you find all the blockchains that charge tx fees- pay per use, like toll roads.

On the 1% side you have Steem, Hive, Nano, IOTA where the infrastructure costs are mutualized and paid for from a community budget, and there are no tx fees for use, like most roads.

Imagine what moving around would be like if 99% of roads were toll roads.

Imagine moving around with toll-free roads! The fun we could have! Really, it's about what future we could create, that's the long-term plan, how we fund future projects, preserve the planet, have housing and health and safety, enjoy nature, art, music.

Hope you take part in HPUD this week!

@eds-vote delegations
@eds-vote is sitting at just under 319,000 HP this week, we've been about this level for two or three weeks now, so it looks like we're at saturation point at roughly 320,000 HP. Not a bad place to be. It will be interesting to see if there is a boost at HPUD.

image.png

Savings Goals

Let's see how we're doing:

AssetGoalStartLast WeekTodayProgress
Hive Power115,000100,400118,872120,111100% 💪
EDS4,6003,2993,9894,02887%
HSBI1,00074197097597%
HBD10,0005,374450%
EDSD1,0001281,8301,835100% 💪

2024 Savings Goals

Progress

  • EDS, EDS-VOTE, EDSD - I moved my HBD savings into EDSD - it makes sense while HIVE is so low and so many more EDS are minted for the same HBD interest. I'll continue to buy EDSD with my earnings from my side-hustle and posting. (More about side-hustles).

EDS eco-system breakdown and model
EDS Income Token | Fixed and Variable Savings Plans
EDS Dollar (EDSD) Release Post

  • Blogging - I did a few calculations about potential income from blogging. I reckon it would bring an income of about 775 (855 with interest) HBD and 3,575 (3,731 with curation and inflation) HP a year.

  • Saturday Savers Club - 2024 Launch and FAQs. Sixty registered savers now. Anyone can join at any time by commenting with their goals on the weekly post on the @eddie-earner account (also follow @eddie-earner for news about EDS). Our first subscription savings plan is on point too with the fourth round distributed at the end of June.

  • HSBI - HIVE basic income - I'm growing these through sponsoring HPUD and other challenge posts over on Saturday Savers Club. I was chosen for the Saturday Savers Club Savers of the Week post, so that was a nice boost to my SBI. Thank you!

image.png

What's New

Well, in January, the builder and I agreed that the bathroom tiling was not of the best and he agreed to replace it. It was all set for March, then the tiler's van broke down and he couldn't get to the job.

Round about April, the builder emailed me to say, ooops, the tiles they had chosen were irregular and it was impossible to get an even job. That's okay, I said, my only specification was that the tiles should be white, fill your boots.

Coming into June, I let them know I needed to be in the house and that would require an operational bathroom. The tilers and plumbers would be there the previous Monday to my arrival, they said. Wednesday, they wrote to say the boiler was busted, could be fitted a week later, the following Thursday. Yes, said a second email, they knew I wanted a 24/7 digital timer and that would be installed the same day.

Friday I got an email saying the glass shower screen I had asked to be removed from the first time the bathroom had been tiled and replaced with a curtain had been re-fitted by accident. The tiler was coming again on Tuesday, in July, to replace the damaged tiles.

Some things are just a Friday afternoon job.

Have a good week everyone!

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center