Build a wealth of Self-Reliance - Stay above the water, the ship is sinking!!!

Finally a Garden!

20220529_181639.jpg

Well that build took longer than it should have!!!


HOMESTEADING

I am glad I we started this journey a few years ago. The path to self-reliance is a long one, but it's so comforting, and rewarding.

We have a small comunity of like minded friends, who all live within a few miles. We help each other when needed, and we encourage each other to grow in many sense of the word.

With all this uncertainty in the world today, the economy going bunkers, supply chains completely disrupted, and everything becoming so expensive, homesteading and community building feels more right than ever!

8 FORMS OF CAPITAL

I was always one to save certain things from going into the trash. I would rather fix something instead of getting a new replacement. Of course if it absolutely needs to be replaced, I'll do it, but I am happy to have practiced this kind of living my whole adult life.

It helped me to build the ability to see opportunity where others don't see it. I didn't build wealth in the traditional sense. I built myself a life where I have more time to do the things I want to do than most people who work all year. I am not financially independent, but that's something I'm also working on, for now having "time" freedom is worth it!!!

image.png
Source

Here's where these 8 forms of capital come in handy.

I can salvage materials I know I will need, I can harvest building material, and I can build (slowly because I have too many project going at once!!!! But I build!). Here's a little example of that:

Building with natural and salvaged materials

If you take a good look at the picture of the 8 forms of capital above, you can beggin to see how important having a good grasp on it will become in the coming years.

Just the other day, I built No Cost Garden Beds using material capital from our little plot of land. Even if you don't own a forest, you can ask a tree service company to drop off some logs where ever you live.

In my journey towards self-reliance, I started with "intellectual capital", reading all I could about mushrooms, wild foods and everything homesteading. When we moved out of the city I was able to start practicing all that. Now I can confidently identify a few different kinds of mushrooms:

20220524_164847.jpg

These are roughly 10lbs of golden oysters

And using "social capital" I aquired an old tractor that has saved us manny hours of labor!.

It takes a while to get experienced, so the best time to start is 5 years ago, the next best time is yesterday, the next bast time after that is today!


The cedar posts you see in the top image of our garden are from a deal I made with someone three years ago, I got a truck load of 20 foot cedar logs for $200!!! That was a good use of material capital. The guy I got them from, had natural capital (standing live cedar trees thqt needed to ome down), he turned that into material capital (logs), and then into financial capital.

FINAL THOUGHTS

In the coming years, a lot of people will need to adapt to having less money, less buying power, and probably more regulations (therefor taxes) on making and managing money.

It seems, if we look into Prabhat Ranjan Sarkar's philosophy, The Law of Social Cycle the world could be heading into a "Commoner Age", which would bring back a sort of tribal village life. This means that "homesteading", and pre-industrial age skills will create an upper hand for individuals who are looking to not only survive, but thrive.

And if we all play our cards right, we could also build a parallel economy through crypto...

So, build community, build your skills, share your skills, learn how the economy works, and learn to use cryptocurrencies.

You'll do great!

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, AND DON'T FORGET YOU CAN SUPPORT ME WITHOUT MAKING A DENT IN YOUR WALLET

Simply use our referral links and we'll earn a little extra along the way:

| Hive | Presearch | Odysee | Minds | Hipcamp |



Find me on Social Media:

Insta: https://www.instagram.com/mugwortexpress/
LBRY: https://lbry.tv/$/invite/@MugwortExpress:5
Odysee: https://odysee.com/$/invite/@MugwortExpress:5
Minds: https://www.minds.com/register?referrer=NoMansLand



FINDING AND HELPING DECENTRALIZATION EVERYWHERE:


presearch

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center