Why HIVE Whales Have More and More Hive Power? .:. Late Night Blogging

I'm a lazy Hiver... I was "cooking" some ideas during the day about the topic for my blog today and I have found at least 4-5 ideas... Some of them disappeared as I have forgotten what they were... lol... And it looks that the rest of them weren't that "interesting" for my brain to develop them further...


Why Whales Have More and More HP.jpg
Created in Canva.com

So, I have opened my "favorites feed" on Peakd and checked posts from my friends... Found an awesome post by @revisesociology where he was writing about Hive Equality Trends March 2022 to Autumn 2022... I had a discussion with @gadrian on this topic a few months ago, but I didn't have data to back my point of view... Now, we have data and I would like to share my point of view about it...

So, there are a couple of things that we can take out from @revisesociology's post...

Number of accounts in different ranks are stable

This is probably one of the biggest surprises for me... In my previously mentioned discussion with @gadrian, my standing point was that the number of whales and orcas is stagnant, and they are even going down... Well, compared from a year ago, it looks that the numbers are almost the same... But, something else is growing and @gadrian was right about it...

Hive Power HODL by whales is growing!

This is a bit concerning as it could create a situation as we had on STEEM... Okay, it can't be that bad, but still, we don't want "centralized power" here on HIVE for sure... But, why is this happening? Why do Whales have more HP and Orcas, Dolphins, and Minnows have less?

Some can say, they (whales) are rich and they don't need money! That's a bit lame excuse as everyone needs money, but probably for different causes... So, I would exclude this reason...

In my opinion, the main reason is education and experience! All whale accounts are here on the chain for multiple years (probably from the very beginning) and they KNOW what is HIVE and how it works! They KNOW what the real potential of this blockchain is and in which direction it goes! Because of all that, they are confident in their bags and will wait with selling their tokens... HIVE is on top of their PRIORITIES, which isn't the case with smaller accounts...

Smaller (ranked) accounts are usually younger, and most people aren't aware of the FULL POTENTIAL of this blockchain... That leads to less confidence and a "lighter" finger over the sell button... Don't forget that most Whales don't create content and they earn HIVE only by curation, which means that small accounts (if we count them together), by creating content too, can earn (and grow) more, and faster!

But HBD APR is 20%!

This is probably another reason why Hive Power didn't grow on lower-ranked HIVE accounts... The current APR on curation is around 8-10% and it depends on how you are upvoting and keeping your voting mana filled... If you add 2.88% of just powering up your HIVE, you are still far away from that 20% that you can get from HBD savings!

But, but... Despite all that, Whale's Hive Power is still going up! How's that? Yes, we have around a 10% difference in APR of HBD savings and HP "staking", but... again... Many people forget about the power of the blockchain and cryptocurrencies in general... HIVE could easily double its value in a year... Instead of $0.45, it could be $0.90 in a year... and that isn't impossible at all!

How many years do you need to double your HBD? Don't forget that 1 HBD will always be (around) 1 USD...

Again, we are back to education, confidence, and belief in all this... Into cryptocurrencies, Web3, decentralization, etc... There are many other possible reasons, but these ones are the most obvious... What do you think is why Whales have more Hive Power? Are they wrong about accumulating more HIVE?

Thank you for your time,

ph


pg divider203.png

If you want to support my witness, you can do it by voting for @ph1102.ctp here https://tribaldex.com/witnesses, or just scan the QR code down below...

Guardians_Of_TheHiveEngine.png

Don't forget to follow, reblog, and browse my Hivepage to stay connected with all the great stuff!

You can also find me on LEO Finance .:. Twitter .:. Odysee

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now