11 Lessons I Learned from My First Abdominal Surgery


11 Lessons I Learned from My First Abdominal Surgery

2024-Oct-15 marks 2 weeks since I had abdominal surgery to fix a hernia. I share what happened & lessons I had learned.



Cover image designed by @magnacarta using emojis and Excel 2007 for text. Minor edits made using MS Paint.


TL;DR

  • Introduction
  • So What Happenned?
    • Expectations versus Experience
    • Showtime
      ---
    • Bad News First
    • Good News
      ---
    • Recovery
    • Delayed Admission to the Hospital
    • No Time To Be Stoic
    • Dizziness
    • Progress (Limited as It Was)
    • Struggle Like a Butterfly Escaping Its Cocoon
    • Discoveries
    • Clothing Selection
    • Adhesives
    • Things Which Gave Me Trouble One Week after Surgery
    • Things Still Giving Me Trouble Two Weeks after Surgery
  • Lessons I Had Learned
    • Lesson 1: Even Minor Surgery Is a Big Deal
    • Lesson 2: Inform Staff of Daily Medications Needed
    • Lesson 3: Health Determines Outcome
    • Lesson 4: Mobility Will Be Drastically Restricted
    • Lesson 5: Expect To Get Dizzy at least Once
    • Lesson 6: Range of Motion Is Severely Limited
    • Lesson 7: Prediction? Pain
    • Lesson 8: Sooner or Later, Expect To Cough or To Sneeze
    • Lesson 9: Dress for Minimal Effort
    • Lesson 10: Get Shaven or Waxed ahead of Time
    • Lesson 11: Give the Mobile Devices a Rest
  • Just My Two Sats

Introduction

After dealing with a hernia I've had for many years, I decided it was long past time to get it fixed. My procedure was scheduled for October 1st, and I was under the impression that I could go home the same day. The big day arrived, and my hernia was fixed. However, I needed to be hospitalized for 2 days. I was one of those people for whom "same-day procedure" would not be the case.

Unlike getting dental fillings or a colonoscopy, fixing a hernia-- part of an organ protruding through the muscle layer-- requires surgery. Specifically, in my case, abdominal surgery. Although fixing a hernia is considered minor surgery (since most most of the time patients can go home the same day), it's still surgery.



So What Happened?

Expectations versus Experience

The expectations I had for myself on October 1st were nowhere near what the experience was for me. Although risks had been explained to me, my expectation was a routine procedure with a routine outcome. Needless to say, it was one of those times when "the fine print" exploded to the size of an H1-level heading.

Showtime

My procedure was scheduled for 6:00pm, so I went through the day without having eaten for over 24 hours. The only drinking I did during this time was to accompany required medications.

By the time the hernia procedure took place, I was dehydrated. That contributed to both higher than expected blood pressure readings and to an elevated heart rate. The surgery itself adds stress to the body.


Bad News First

Had it not been for the elevated heart rate, I would have been sent home the same day. However, 2 concerns had to be ruled out before I could be discharged from the hospital:

  • My consistent pain level of 5.5 (never mind occasional spikes to 7 or higher); and
  • Determining the cause of my elevated heart rate.

Good News

After several batches of tests-- blood samples, an electrocardiogram (EKG), and even a chest x-ray-- it was determined that the surgery itself did not cause the elevated heart rate. That is to say, nothing unexpected happenned during the surgery itself. My body was dealing with the trauma of being cut open, and the pain associated with that condition.


Recovery

With surgery-- minor or not-- out of the way, I needed to recover enough to be sent home. I hadn't planned on an overnight hospital stay, never mind 2 nights. At least I arrived wearing clothing suitable for bedtime.

For a while, moving in any way caused me pain. Even twisting my feet at the ankles caused me to feel pain in my abdominal area. Once I succeeded in twisting my feet without pain, my next goal was to bend my knees toward the ceiling with maximum range of motion. I would accomplish this goal the next day.

Delayed Admission to the Hospital

Although arrangements had been made to transfer me to a hospital bed out of the recovery room, I was kept in the recover room overnight due to my persistently high pain level of 5.5.

No Time To Be Stoic

Once I was cleared to be transferred to my assigned bed, I had to be shifted from the recovery room bed to the hospital bed. That transfer caused my pain level to spike to 7+ even with help from hospital staff. The first 2 days after surgery are no time to maintain stoicism, so I expressed pain when I couldn't handle it. Even then, I tried to keep it to a minimum because I didn't want other patients to panic because of me; they have their own situations to deal with.

Dizziness

The first time I stood up after getting out of bed I was dizzy. It could have been due to the painkillers I had been given. It could have been to to the act itself after being in bed for so long. It could have even been due to the speed with which I stood up. I was told this was a normal reaction to standing up the first time, so that was a relief for me.

Progress (Limited as It Was)

It took long enough, but I was able to bend my knees as much as I could without pain while in bed. It's actually amazing how fast I was recovering while dealing with my pain and the resulting limited mobility it caused me. It's just a matter of time, and that time will pass. However, it's also an experience I cannot avoid; the best I can do (even now, at home) is endure and watch how I move.

My recovery was better in Day 2 than it was in Day 1, and it's better in Week 2 than it was in Week 1. Thoughts of pain fade away to be replaced by thoughts of discomfort. Just as life gets better for adolescents after they leave high school, recovery gets better after a time.

Struggle Like a Butterfly Escaping Its Cocoon

As much as it sucks, it's necessary to be up and about while in the hospital. Although it seems counterintuitive, as a patient you'll be required to get out of bed to take a walk around the hospital wing.

You'll be hurting no matter what, but the walk forces your body to get used to the motions used during the act of walking. This physical activity helps to accelerate the healing process and to cut down on the duration of the pain. Each walk will be better than the one before it, and it will be a matter of time before walking is no longer a concern (even with the abdominal pain).

The best example is that of the caterpillar turning into a butterfly:

The metamorphasis of a caterpillar into a butterfly
Image source: Tenor.com

While it's possible for the butterfly to exit its cocoon, it won't be strong enough to fly. So the butterfly has to struggle its way out of the cocoon. It's that struggle which makes it possible for the butterfly to fly. As post-op patients, we're like those butterflies.

Discoveries

As I was trying to discovery the limits of my tolerance for pain, I noticed that my discomfort was manageable if I moved in one direction. As long as the abdominal muscles didn't require much use, I was OK. This meant that sitting down and standing up were doable without help.

Unfortunately, I made this discovery when attempting the deceptively easy yet complex action of getting out of bed. The torso twists, and that requires using abdominal muscles.

One discovery I hadn't expected to make took place in the loo as I was finally able to take care of business in there. Sitting was as I expected, so that was a good sign. However, the act of having to wipe myself clean was more painful than I had anticipated. It wasn't something I could save to be done later, so I grit my teeth and dealt with the momentary accute pain from this action. Each successive trip to the loo was less painful, but at least I knew how to prepare for the experience.

Clothing Selection

On October 1st, a Tuesday, I arrived wearing running pants, running shorts, slip-on sandals, a zippered flannel shirt, and a t-shirt with no sleeves. When I was discharged on October 3rd, I needed to get dressed again. Given my limited mobility and the discoveries I had made, I had already decided to go home commando beneath the running pants.

Putting on the t-ahirt was harder than I expected it to be, but I shouldn't have been surprised. My sisters had come from out of town to take me home from the hospital, and it was my younger sister who suggested that next time I stay in the hospital I should arrive wearing button-down shirts. I will keep this advice in mind, for sure.

Adhesives

With various points for needles on both arms as well as tape used for administering the EKG, I had at least 10 areas on my arms and midsection which needed adhesives removed. Some areas had smooth skin, others had typical male body hair underneath. It was going to be crazy getting these adhesives off my body while at the hospital, so I decided to handle that task at home. Two now, three later, more after that, etc. It wasn't a fun task, but I was able to get most adhesives removed with minimal pain. In one case, I resorted to using scissors to cut the hair off the chest rather than remove the adhesive attached to that hair.

Later I need to remove the residue left by those adhesives, and that just takes time and a few washings.

Things Which Gave Me Trouble One Week after Surgery

The most common task I had after one week was getting out of bed. I figured out how to get into bed fine, but getting out of it is still tricky even if I figured out how to do it earlier. This is due to the torso twisting I need to do to get into position before rising out of bed.

I tried sleeping in a sitting position while in bed, but it was more trouble than I had expected. Also, I have to get up periodically to take painkillers as well as to empty my bladder. Since I can manage standing up after being seated, I decided it was best for me to sleep in my bedroom chair where I use my computer.

However, there are three other things I have trouble with which I can't do anything about: coughing, sneezing, and blowing my nose.

Coughing is something I can anticipate, so I can postpone it as much as I can with cough drops, fluids, or cough medicine. If I'm lucky, I can slow down the speed and drop the intensity of the cough. If I'm not lucky, I will be cringing in pain for a moment or two.

Unlike coughing, sneezing can happen at any time for any reason. I can't prepare for a sneeze, so when it happens-- and there's no avoiding it-- it'll hurt as much as anything I experienced during the first 24 hours after surgery. The same is true for blowing my nose.

Coughing, sneezing, and blowing the nose aren't fun under the best of circumstances. After having surgery, they are most dreadful.

If I encounter any other situation as bad as coughing or sneezing or blowing the nose, it will be something totally unexpected.

Things Still Giving Me Trouble Two Weeks after Surgery

Because of how my abdominal surgery was done, I experience more discomfort on my right side. This means I have to sleep on my back whether I want to or not. When I put myself on my left side, I still feel discomfort on my right side, so at least for now I don't dare try to put myself on my right side.



Lessons I Had Learned

As an older member of Generation X (along with actor Ben Stiller and his contemporaries), this was my first-ever surgery in 50+ years. In some ways, I wasn't expecting the surgical experience. So it was a surprise to me as I was dealing with the aftermath. Even though it's been less than 1 week since my hernia was fixed (via surgery), there are still a few things I've learned which I think will be useful to anyone who will be undergoing abdominal surgery for the first time.

Lesson 1: Even Minor Surgery Is a Big Deal

Hernia surgery has advanced to the point where the surgeon can use a robot for much of the procedure. That's a good thing! Another good thing: my procedure was minimally invasive. Yet I still ended up in a hospital bed for nearly 48 hours.

Since my hernia surgery was abdominal surgery, this means that the body had to be cut open and some internals had to be sliced and rejoined. This also means that an array of body responses need to be monitored, including blood pressure, pulse, and respiration.

Lesson 2: Inform Staff of Daily Medications Needed

I was going to call this lesson "Bring Your Own Meds," but the hospital can supply you with whatever medications you normally take daily. Even if you had your meds with you, you would be in no condition to access them. If you made it this far into the post, you know why.

So as soon as it's determined that you will be admitted as a hospital patient, let whoever if giving you painkillers know that you have other meds you need to take but left at home.

Lesson 3: Health Determines Outcome

If you're in terrific shape, such as an athlete, an active duty member of the armed forces, or just a fine physical specimen, you'll respond better to abdominal surgery. Very likely you go home the same day.

If you have pre-existing conditions, whether it's high blood pressure or diabetes or anything else, then that can complicate the aftermath of the surgery (if not the surgery itself).

Since I can stand to lose some pounds or kilograms (or a few stones) of mass and I have high blood pressure, I hadn't done myself any favors going into my surgery.

Lesson 4: Mobility Will Be Drastically Restricted

There's a reason abdominal muscles are referred to as "the core" of one's body: these muscles are used for nearly every movement we make during the day.

If you try to stand from a seated position, it'll be very difficult during the first 48 hours after surgery. Expect to request assistance from nurses or from your visitors.

If you want to get out of bed or back into bed, you'll need help.

Even when you wipe yourself clean after using the loo, you'll notice how hard it is to perform this task. Sure, you can get it done by yourself, but it won't be fun (especially that first time during the hospital stay).

Lesson 5: Expect To Get Dizzy at least Once

After anesthesia, painkillers and time in bed, the moment will come when it's time to stand up. Expect to experience dizziness at that moment. It's been a while, so the body needs to remember what it's like to handle the change in air pressure (as determined by the ears).

Lesson 6: Range of Motion Is Severely Limited

The first few hours in recovery, I couldn't even twist my feet while lying in bed. When I tried, I noticed that my range of motion was minimal. As each hour passed, my range of motion improved.

It would be at least a day before I could bend my knees fully while in bed. I was doing this to determine how I well I was recovering. It was during my second day that I had recovered enough to do things on my own (even with pain). Speaking of pain....

Lesson 7: Prediction? Pain

Just as boxer Clubber Lang predicted this result for his first fight with world heavyweight champion Rocky Balboa in Rocky III (1982), you can predict pain for yourself after undergoing abdominal surgery, or any surgery involving your torso or midsection.

Clubber Lang predicting PAIN in fight with Rocky Balboa in ROCKY III
Image source: Tenor.com

Whatever you think of your ability to handle pain, you'll need to re-evalutate that opinion after your first abdominal surgery. On a scale of 0 (no pain) through 10 (🤬🤬🤬 screaming your lungs out), I rated myself at 5.5. Until then, I had not known that intensity of pain. Although I wasn't screaming, whoever looked at me could tell I was in pain. That's why I rated my pain at 5.5; it was greater than average.

Knowing this, I accepted being in a chronic state of 5.5-level pain. This impacted my heart rate and my blood pressure, so I was given (at various points) acetaminophen, ibuprofen, oxycodone, percocet, and even fentanyl.

While I had gotten used to the persistent pain at 5.5, actions such as getting out of bed caused the pain level to shoot up to 7 or higher.

Even though I'm home now and my pain level after 2 weeks is at 2 and dropping, the pain level shoots to 7 or higher if I cough or sneeze. I can prepare for coughing, but the sneeze is an unexpected event.

The pain drops with each passing day, but it's a consideration in all you do for a while.

Lesson 8: Sooner or Later, Expect To Cough or To Sneeze

How bad can coughing be? For some people (not me), it can be powerful enough to bring about a hernia. (My hernia happened for a differennt reason.)

How bad can sneezing be? Think of a jai-alai pelota hurled at the front wall at speeds exceeding 150 miles per hour (over 241 kph). Then imagine the effort needed to sneeze.

Although coughing can be anticipated and mitigated by things such as cough drops, cough medication, and just drinking fluids, coughing will happen. It'll also be an unpleasant experience even if you manage to control the act of coughing.

As for sneezing, there's no preparing for it. All you can do it just deal with it and endure the pain. The best outcome is a long gap between sneezes.

When it comes to blowing the nose, that can be avoided as much as possible, but when it happens it will HURT.

Lesson 9: Dress for Minimal Effort

As a patient, you'll be limited in how you can move your body. A hospital stay isn't the time to show off fancy clothes or hard-to-acquire status garments. It's OK to arrive at the hospital as if you're going to bed. Since you'll be wearing the same clothing when discharged, it needs to be clothing which is easy to put on even when your body is limited in its range of motion.

It won't be possible to enter the hospital au naturel, but it's OK to arrive looking like Hugh Hefner at one of his famous parties at the Playboy Mansion. The goal here is practicality, not fashion.

Lesson 10: Get Shaven or Waxed ahead of Time

Although this is usually expected of women or taken as a given for women, this advice is useful for men as well. Whether the man's body is as smooth as Magic Mike's or as hairy as Sean Connery-era James Bond, take the hit to self-esteem and get smooth. I don't know any men who want to be dealing with the hassle of hairs getting pulled from them as they remove EKG tape or sticky band-aids. The aftermath of the surgery is painful enough on its own; why add to it?

If you can get yourself smooth ahead of surgery, that's great. If you have a partner who can help you get smooth ahead of the surgery, even better. If you're on your own and inexperienced in this sort of thing, let the professionals at the salon or spa get you smooth. Whatever the case may be, do yourself the favor.

If (as a guy) you like the new look, you can keep it. Otherwise, you can wait a few weeks to look like your old self.

Areas of interest include arms, chest, and abdominal region:

  • Arms -- IV drips, blood samples
  • Chest -- EKG
  • Abdominal region -- why you're undergoing procedure

Lesson 11: Give the Mobile Devices a Rest

The most entertaining way to help pass the time will be watching TV from the hospital bed. Many of us are-- for better or for worse-- in the habit of using our mobile devices to keep ourselves entertained.
However, it turns out that even in doing this we end up using our abdominal muscles. We may rest on our side, only that option is unavailable. We may manipulate the mobile device in a way which (without realizing it) calls upon those muscles; remember how I had trouble moving my feet in the first hours after surgery.

Then there's the aggravation and anxiety caused from the device's dwindling power supply. We have it hard enough as it is just trying to heal enough to get discharged from the hospital. We don't need to make ourselves go nuts because we can't go online or make video calls.

Our mobile devices don't care a bit about us as much as we care care about our mobile devices. It's OK to put them on the backburner while we're in the hospital as patients.

Just My Two Sats

Many medical procedures can be done at a doctor's practice, including some minor surgeries. These are normally thought of as same-day procedures which allow the patient to return home the same day. Hernia repair is one such procedure.

Even though hernia repair-- especially when the hernia is in the abdominal region-- is considered minor surgery, it is still surgery. This means that it can easily turn into a situation requiring hospitalization. That's what happened to me.

For someone having surgery for the first time, know that the first 24 hours after surgery will be one of the most unpleasant experiences ever. The second 24 hours are an improvement, but still bad enough.

Whether you are scheduled for a planned hospital stay or end up admitted to the hospital unexpectedly, there are things you can do to make life easier for yourself.

Some lessons I learned deal with handling the aftermath of the surgery. A few lessons involve preparing for any event considered surgery. One lesson even offers us an opportunity to get unplugged from our mobile devices.

The most important lesson deals with the pain we can expect during the first 48 hours after surgery. After that, it will be at least several weeks of discomfort as we give the body time to heal. Since we can't avoid this pain, we must endure it. The best way to endure this pain is to know what to expect and adjust our conduct accordingly.

As a man, there is no way I can compare the surgical experience to the childbirth experience many women have had, and I would be a fool to do so. This I can say after having spoken to my younger sister, who has had both surgery in the abdominal region as well as the childbirth experience. So I refuse to make that comparison.

If you've never had surgery, please use my experience as recorded here as a basic guide for how to prepare for it and the immediate aftermath. While there may be a thing or two I didn't include here, I made sure to include everything I knew should be included.


Did I leave out something? Was there a point I failed to cover? Was I mistaken in any way? Do you wish to amplify a point I had made? Feel free to leave comments about those things or any other comments to be shared.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center