Hectic flights delays as if the Universe is trying to tell me something

So let me tell you a story that I have experienced just today and from which the conclusion is that you shouldn't book light flights from different companies (low cost for sure) that have less than 3 hours in between the flights. So my doomed journey happened today and brought hectic events all around me.

image.png

I had a domestic flight booked from Iasi to Bucharest which had afterwards a link towards Milano (Bergamo). The time in between the flights was around 1h20min so I thought that I will have time to transit to the next flight. But guess what? Sure it was not! From the beginning, my flight from Iasi had about 1-hour delay and of course, when it landed in Bucharest I had to take the bus from the airstrip and go through the security check and passport control. And guess what... I got to the boarding gates 5 minutes before the flight should have taken off, but I didn't see the flight anymore showing on any screen as if it disappeared. After I got to an office and asked about he told me that he was already in the air.

image.png

Next, I booked another flight on the same day to Milano (Bergamo) with a connection flight to Naples. It wasn't very cheap... But I got a new booking and felt that I sorted it out even if I threw some money out of the window. Notice that on the first flight at the airline desk they told me that they cannot give me a free ticket as that applies for delays bigger than 3 hours. With a bitter taste, I went to eat something and kill the time.

While grabbing something to eat, at some point it strike me that in all this chaos I forgot my car keys at the security check. I hurried up and went to the lost luggage and fortunately they found it and I could recover it. I thought that maybe the day has brighten up for me, but no... I got an SMS that my new booking had also a delay of about 1h20m, while the connection time was 1h45m. For sure I will not be able to make it as I even don't know the airport.

image.png

I called the airline to ask to book me a flight later on at +3hours. Now the support desk told me that I need to call when I am boarding the delayed flight as they don't want to replace my ticket and to appear another delay. But I was trying to tell them that if I let time pass, I might not catch the connection which was scheduled for later on. After talking for several minutes it might be possible to get a refund for the connection that I will probably miss for sure. In these conditions, I have booked the connection flight with +3h in between and I hope things will turn around.

Now I am killing time in the airport while watching my phone for notifications on future delays. And let's not forget I still need to call the airline after boarding the delayed flight, in order to request a refund for the connecting one as they didn't want to do that proactive when I first call. It is like the entire Universe tries to stop me from getting to the destination and with all this juju I am hoping nothing bad will happen. It's too much of falling pieces on this journey, I hope the plane will not fall as well with this dark cloud over me.

Be well and if you see another post from me tomorrow, that means I have made it to my destination. Cross my fingers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center