Welcome to Kingdom.So [My Little Adventure]

Today, I did a wee exploring online and one of which is Kingdom.so which I read about the day before through an article by bitcoinflood where he wrote a guide on how to start on the game. My quick research made me learn about the platform and let me share them on this post.


What is Kingdom.So?

It is a website that hosts a 2D virtual gaming world where players can create, farm, produce, trade, play and meet other players. According to their profile on ProductHunt, it is available on both desktop and mobile.

On the game, you can build your own kingdom, farm, craft, make new friends, organize events and help achieve a collective quest dictated by an enigmatic AI character. And apparently, you can convert your in-game earnings into cryptocurrency at any time. It is a mix between social network and casual game with a real economy.¹ And that explains why there's a "chat" feature inside the game, re:


It freaked me out for a moment when it replied like someone real, lol! Or maybe it is? Anyhow, according to the game developer, and I quote his post on ProductHunt, re:

Today you can: Explore our endless world, pick up stuffs on the road, cook delicious potions, meet other players and chat with them, join our big quest to collect 100,000 potions for a mysterious stranger coming from the outer world. You can even chat with this AI, like a real person.

For $5 in ETH or Polygon you can even create your own kingdom to craft collectible objects, trade with other players and earn crypto, organize events around a bonfire.

Fun fact: I launched here the first version of Kingdom few years ago. At this time Kingdom was just a map where anyone was able to buy tiles to promote stuffs. Since then I decided to build a endless multiplayer web3 game around it... took me and friends meet on the road 3 years😅.²

My Wee Adventure

I created an account using an email address and went straight for an adventure. It made me chuckle seeing the tiny "me" moving around, walking through tiled paths and just everywhere. Here, the little me was meeting "The Stranger" and had a quick conversation with him (above screenshot).


(src)

I'm yet to buy anything or pay the $5 initial investment so I could create my own kingdom. Maybe I will get tempted soon and give it a go. Or perhaps, I will wait for further guides and tips from bitcoinflood before jumping aboard to get a better game strategy, lol!

You might be wondering, why would you pay to test the game? I happen to read the answer to that from the developer himself saying it is to avoid bots and also to make the game economy sustainable. So that's understandable. Learned through some reading that the platform had started in 2020 so they have been improving it for 3 years already. It will be very interesting to see how this game develops.


By the way, did I mention that when I got lost at the Lake, I found a cucumber? Going to Oregon Blockchain, there were two carrots waiting for me too. At Camp Sloan, found 3 cucumbers and 3 ferns, yay! The most things were found in Initial Rock.

Was at CalcuBuilder when the tiny me ran out of energy. I overdid it. Perhaps that's the first lesson learned today on this game. Don't get too excited, slow down and strategize, lol!

Personal Thoughts

The game brings me back to ages ago when Super Mario or the Bomber Man were a thing.

I feel the graphics and icons are too small and most of the whole screen is looking empty when inside one of the kingdoms. The good thing is that I can zoom my browser in to 110-120% which makes it look a lot better and friendlier to my eyes.

But I tell you, the game's map is vast! My computer screen can't fit them all. It made me wonder if those were kingdoms created by gamers or most of them were built by the developers. There's much to learn and discover on this new wonder!

(src)

And truth be told, I'm kinda loving the game already and hoping that the thrill won't die down. I'll probably be checking it out now and then during my leisure time. Maybe I'd get addicted. We shall see😅

Want to check it out? Visit the site and take your wee adventure too..

Lead image created on Canva. Screenshots from the Kingdom. 10th July 2023/20:35ph

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center