KNOX GOES AWAY - The Great Power of Love

Image source

I have a stack of movies to watch on my Television but I'm not one to sit and watch movies for hours. Well, I can but it isn't my first choice when it comes to entertainment or relaxation; movies that is. I have seen a few top movies recently but decided to share my take on this one with you guys.

ABOUT

Micheal Keaton plays John Knox in this epic thriller. John Knox is a contract killer with his friend and colleague, Thomas Muncie. They both work for a crime lord, Xavier Crane, and get hired to kill people who have done something wrong. As time went on, John Knox was diagnosed with a rare disease "Creutzfeldt-Jakob". A form of dementia without a cure that grows rapidly. In a race against time, as he seems to be forgetting everything, he starts sorting out all his affairs, including leaving the game and cashing out his retirement, while leaving it to three people in his life. In a rather interesting change of event, his estranged son comes to his doorstep covered in blood, after attacking and killing a guy who molested his daughter. Then a new adventure unravels as John Knox races against time to outsmart law enforcement and save his son.

THE GOOD

You've got to give it to Micheal Keaton. The man knows his stuff. Top-notch acting. The movie had different layers, allowing some level of mystery and adventure for the viewer.. Another thing that could easily go unnoticed is the different scene where even the characters are not up to speed yet, and the viewer already gets it. The film also takes one on a mental rollercoaster with different twists and turns now and then in the movie. A well thought out plot. Then to sum it all up, a proper ending to the story. The highest show of love. I was touched.

THE BAD

I would say, it was pretty slow-paced. Apart from a couple of shooting scenes, the movie didn't deliver on that front. It felt flat and uninteresting. Some of the conversations too at some point did not help matters. Most of the acting was bland and felt dragged. It is not the best film you'd see in 2024, but it is a worthy shout.

STREAM OR SKIP?

I would recommend you stream this. The ending is so satisfying, with a well-thought-out plan from the protagonist to pay the last and ultimate sacrifice because of love. I genuinely enjoyed that. The movie also portrays a two-sided spectrum that makes one heart race. The intelligent detective who goes down the rabbit hole, and the old well-studied contract killer, with dementia who plays the game of wits with acute adroitness. I think it is a decent two-hour movie. I'd rate it 4.4 out of 5.

Thank you for reading my film review-ish. I enjoyed seeing the movie. If you haven't seen it, I'd recommend you see it, and if you have, share your thoughts with me in the comments. Till next time. Cheer.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments