What life is like for a gluten allergic person (ESP/ENG)

IMG-20230427-WA0036.jpg
Photo: archivo personal

Food is part of our joy, in all cultures of the world it connects us to affection, memory and good times, in short, to tradition. In this last century, as a consequence of migrations, the diversity of flavors is recurrent. Thus, we find in local markets spices, tubers and dishes that belong to other cultures. In the same way, it is more frequent in our diet processed foods that have an unfavorable impact on health.

I am one of the millions of beings on this planet who is allergic to gluten. I can't eat flour, dairy, meat, because my colon is deeply affected. A few weeks ago I had a relapse and went to the doctor. Although my definitive diagnosis is still under study, my gastroenterologist prescribed me a strict diet rich in fiber and believe me I get along very well with vegetables and greens. I love to eat healthy, however I confess that it is not easy to live without sweets, coffee, chocolate, cheese and many things that I am sure we all want to try from time to time.

La comida es parte de nuestra alegría, en todas las culturas del mundo nos conecta a los afectos, la memoria y buenos momentos, en fin a la tradición. En este último siglo como consecuencia de las migraciones, la diversidad de sabores es recurrente. Así, encontramos en mercados locales especies, tubérculos y platos que pertenecen a otras culturas. De la misma manera, es más frecuente en nuestra dieta los alimentos procesados que tienen un impacto desfavorable en la salud.

Soy uno de los millones de seres en este planeta que es alérgica al gluten. No puedo comer harinas, lácteos, carne, porque mi colón se afecta profundamente. Hace unas pocas semanas tuve una recaída y fui al médico. Aunque mi diagnóstico definitivo está en estudio, mi gastroenterólogo me recetó una dieta estricta rica en fibra y creánme que yo me la llevo muy bien con los vegetales y las verduras. Me encanta comer sano, sin embargo les confieso que no es fácil vivir sin dulces, café, sin chocolate, sin queso y sin muchas cosas que seguro todos queremos probar de vez en cuando.

pastel.jpg

Photo: Fuente

I live in Venezuela, a Latin American country where the markets are large chains that sell many imported products, mainly processed foods, and our basic food basket is composed of at least 15 products that represent the monopoly of a brand that manufactures them and that for three generations has culturally imposed this way of eating. A Venezuelan cannot live without eating arepa, bread, butter and all that we call eating rich. We are great consumers of meat, eggs and cheese, for this reason these proteins are very important in our diet.

It is not easy to live without flour, dairy and all that long list that the doctor forbade me. Every time you go out on the street, what you find around you is a lot of establishments where they sell sweets, breads, donuts, fast food. If you go to visit a friend or relative's house, the first thing they offer you is an arepa. In Venezuela, most people only eat vegetables when they are going to make a soup. A creole broth accompanied by meat or chicken that is cooked over firewood.

Vivo en Venezuela, un país de América Latina donde los mercados son grandes cadenas que venden muchos productos importados, alimentos, fundamentalmente procesados, y nuestra cesta básica se compone de al menos unos 15 productos que representan el monopolio de una marca que los fabrica y que durante tres generaciones se ha impuesto culturalmente esta forma de comer. Un venezolano no puede vivir sin comer arepa, pan, mantequilla y todo eso que nosotros llamamos comer rico. Somos grandes consumidores de carne, huevos y quesos, por esta razón estas proteínas están muy presentes en nuestra dieta.

No es fácil vivir sin harinas, sin lácteos y toda esa larga lista que el médico me prohibió. Cada vez que sales a la calle, lo que encuentras a tu alrededor es gran cantidad de establecimientos donde venden dulces, panes, donas, comida rápida. Si vas de visita a la casa de un amigo o un familiar, lo primero que te ofrecen es una arepa. En fin, en Venezuela la gran mayoría solo come verduras cuando va hacer una sopa. Un caldo criollo acompañado de carne o pollo que se cocina a la leña.

name.jpg
Photo: archivo personal

My health problem has affected, to a certain extent, my way of socializing with other people. For that reason, I go out very little so as not to make anyone uncomfortable. Since my diet is unusual, my visit can be a nuisance. People think you're weird, vegetarian, hippy, syphilitic, etc. It's not nice. So most of my time is spent working, exercising, climbing hills with friends and researching new recipes. Every week I check chef websites, watch videos of recipes I like and check on the availability of ingredients.

The positive side of all this is self-care, dedicating more time to organize my life, my own interests and learning to eat in a conscious way. If I am going to consume a food I do not do it to satisfy my appetite but because I know that it will have a benefit to my health. I have linked myself to other people with healthier lives and local consumption networks. My vegetables are organic, harvested in a village an hour away from my city by the hands of an uncle, I buy weekly the amount of tubers that I will need.

Mi problema de salud ha afectado, en cierta forma, mi manera de socializar con otras personas. Por esa razón, salgo muy poco para no incomodar a nadie. Como mi dieta no es común, mi visita puede significar una molestia. La gente piensa que eres raro, vegetariano, hippy, sifrino, en fin no es agradable. Asi que la mayor parte de mi tiempo la dedico a trabajar, hacer ejercicio, subir cerro con amigos e investigar nuevas recetas. Cada semana consulto páginas de chefs, veo videos de recetas que me gustan e indago en la disponibilidad de los insumos.

El lado positivo de todo esto es el autocuidado, dedicar más tiempo para organizar mi vida, mis propios intereses y aprender a comer de una manera consciente. Si voy a consumir un alimento no lo hago por saciar el apetito sino porque se que tendrá un beneficio a mi salud. Me he vinculado a otras personas con vidas más saludables y a redes de consumo local. Mis verduras son orgánicas, cosechadas en un pueblo a una hora de mi ciudad por las manos de un tío, semanalmente le compro la cantidad de tubérculos que voy a necesitar.

tomato-2282101_1280.jpg

Photo:Fuente

I have learned some recipes from Venezuelan chefs that I recommend: @laalquimiadelchef and @lacocinadecarmenymafer. I am happy to be connected to sensitive, supportive people and the energy of the life force.

He aprendido algunas recetas de los chefs venezolanos que recomiendo: @laalquimiadelchef y @lacocinadecarmenymafer . Me contenta poder estar conectada a gente sensible, solidaria y a la energía de la fuerza vital.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now