Give Us This Day our Daily Bread.

viber_image_2022-12-20_07-33-22-479.jpg

Give us this day our daily bread

Image taken from my smartphone

I left my workstation at around seven in the morning. Usually, my work would end at five but since we had some errands that need to be done on the day prior I requested a change of schedule. Droplets of rain still fall when I went outside our humble abode, I am accustomed in the slow paced province life away from the Metro.

The first few weeks of staying here was a pain, mainly in my legs. Going back and forth to the market is tiresome as I need to walk more than 15 minutes to reach the waiting shed for public transportation plus include the wait time for the vehicle to arrive. Public vehicle are still a rare sight and at times I wonder if getting our own ride will help me in the long run.

Going back to the bread, the nearby bakery was near the waiting area and since some folks are living far an old man who resell them usually drops by in the gateway. He starts selling pan de sal at around 5:30 in the morning, perfect time for us since I usually close everything at around 05:15 AM. But since it is raining, we are not expecting him to pay a visit. It is cold and sun's not giving his smile today as the weather's cranky.

To my surprise he is nearby, pressing his mini trumpet as a sign that he is still selling. He cannot shout to call for his patrons as he had stroke. I admire his hard work and dedication as he still push to work even on his current situation he is working for his daily bread.

Life is hard at times I will catch myself staring in the blanskspace reminiscing the old times wherein I will only worry on where I can get a peso to play in the nearest arcade or what will happen to Gon if he see his dad in Hunter Hunter. But that is not my reality anymore, managing finances is one of the troubles that we have because there's close to none.

I was reminded that though at times I see that we lack we never got hungry. There are times wherein we can spend an extra to eat elsewhere. We have enough to last, though splurging isn't that doable anymore compared to the previous years, we are happy.

Maybe as you grow old, you tend to be content or probably because of poverty? I reckon the first idea would fit this blog rather than the latter.


Are you also one of the people who worry about finances? How do you handle such worry? Anything that you are grateful lately?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center