The verdant soul

Ballina Trip_5196-COLLAGE.jpg

Beauty awakens the soul to act.

- Dante Alighieri -



I look at these photos and remember well the way I felt when I was actually there. They bring me peace, are restorative to my soul, bring me a feeling of contentment; the memories of those moments and emotions that linger long after I've left awaken my soul.

I've been a long way from home working for a little while now. My days consist of wake, drive to work, work the day, drive to my hotel and sleep. There's some eating, showering and sleeping in between as well. It's all rather uninspiring. I leave in the early morning and at work I'm heavily occupied; by the time I get back to my hotel it's after dark meaning I'm not seeing much daylight at all. I don't see much of nature either considering I'm in a big city.

I'd like to go for a walk and would be safe enough after dark I guess although it's not just a walk I need; it's a walk in places like those you see above I need.

Unfortunately it's not possible and whilst I'm ok about it I really crave wide open spaces, the type of fresh air one can only find in wilderness areas and some verdant green vistas.

I've been spending my evenings reading mainly although over the last couple days started going through thousands of photos from places I've been, mostly camping trips, and immersing myself in the memories made in such places. As I flick through each picture I'm drawn deeper into the moments I lived in times past in such beautiful places. It's been really nice to tumble back into those memories and it's brought me some comfort; if I can't go there in reality I'll let my memories take me there.

It's at times like this when the ability to get out into the countryside, to hike, off road and camp where the moments I've already lived come to mean so much. Through those memories, the photos, I've managed to nourish my soul, to keep it verdant enough to keep me moving forward and come this weekend...well, I think you'll know where I'll be.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

All images in this post are my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center