An Introvert who's now a Leader

“The world is changed by your example, not by your opinion.”
– Paulo Coelho

Hello everyone! This is dheannn and for today's blog, I will share how someone like me who's an introvert and has social anxiety became a leader of our school department.

So how did it come into this?

Honestly, I am the type of person who's not into "being part of a school organization". I never had the interest towards that since Elementary or even High School. I don't have that guts to provide service towards students or to even give the best quality of leadership.

Not until this college journey. I was already a working student since I was first year. Therefore, I don't have enough time to commit to any other responsibilities at school while having my work that sustains my needs and wants. Also, I usually spend with my friends rather than doing anything else. Lastly, I don't have that much experience.

Not until I stepped on to my second year. Everything changed. I was invited to be part of an organization and I was hesitant to take it or not. But then, I tried. Then there, my journey started. I never knew where all of this good leadership things I do for our department came from. I'm shocked about it honestly.

In me, I believe that I will never be a successful leader knowing that I don't have enough experience. But what bothers me the most is that I knew to myself how introvert I am. I am not confident in speaking publicly or even standing long enough in front of a crowd. I just don't know how to really handle things to make it successful.

Days and months passed, I'm starting to feel like I can see some improvements in my character. That includes dealing with people, managing and organizing things and situations, maintaining the peace in my head and most importantly, the part of me as a leader. There, I realized that it may not be the thing I ever wanted as a working student but at least, it gave me more opportunities and rewards. I was able to gain an award for my service and it's so heartwarming. It's really good to be appreciated in simple ways possible.

Now, I am the Governor of our department and I believe that more and more challenges are yet to come. Those challenges I faced last year will be doubled and much more thrilling. Yet, I know to myself that all of this should mean a lot to me for my college journey. I am ready to serve our students no matter how introverted I am to myself.

How about you? Do you also believe that you can make a change? Feel free to post your insights so we can exchange it. Hahaha.

Well, that's it for this post. I do hope you are happy in reading this post. Thank you so much for your time! We'll see each other on my next post. God bless!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center